An early departure


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 15th 2020
Published: March 16th 2020
Edit Blog Post

And wisdom must prevail.

Yesterday morning I realized it would be wise to come home . Fortunately my trusty travel agent was able to find me a flight today . This virus seems to have spiralled in the last few days . It is crazy ! Heathrow this morning is very busy but Brenda , who flew Westjet out of Gatwick yesterday says that airport wasn't that busy . Know one really knows what is happening or will happen in the next while.

London has been good . We were able to do a few tourist things , a boat trip on the Thames , a wander in Trafalgar Square , the Eye of London and the British Museum . Yesterday I was able to get a ticket for the matinèe performance of Come From Away and enjoyed it thoroughly. What a great play ! I was actually in tears at several points .The cast , the music and the touching reality of the people involved was beautifully presented.

I also spent time in Westminster Abbey . What an amazing place . I had forgotten how magnificent it is.

But then it was time to go .

Glad you have enjoyed the blog ... well some of you have said that .

I am now in Toronto waiting for my flight to Regina . It has been a long day and I suspect I shall sleep all the way home . Looking forward to my own bed , kitchen and Regina ...and you of course.

Hope all is well .

Advertisement



16th March 2020

Welcome back
Glad to hear that you are on your way back, it was a tough time for me to get back from Mexico, now I am on 14 day self- isolation according to Saskatchewan Covid-19 policy.hope you arrive home soon! !
16th March 2020

The right thing.
Glad you had a good time and were able to get a flight home. We ,too, are cutting short our holiday. Leaving Charleston in the morning but not a smooth journey. Will self quarantine upon our return for the requisite 14 days. May be able to host bridge on April 1,,God willing ,virus absent and the others feel comfortable .venturing forth.
16th March 2020

Welcome home!
I'm so relieved you are safely home. Finding your favourite foods may be a challenge if my quick stop to forage in the local grocery store is an indication. No bananas or potatoes. Didnt even check the tp. London is a magnificent city. I'm sorry you had to leave early. But it was the right thing to do in these times. And you made good use of your time. I hope you stopped at the British Library for a quick look.

Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb