Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
October 7th 2022
Published: October 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Arrived yesterday after an uneventful flight . I was however reminded of the goodness of people in the Toronto airport . While changing into my comfortable long distance flight clothes I had taken my tablet out to set it on flight mode .

I was quite perplexed when I was paged to come to the desk in the departure area . I was first asked for some ID then I was presented with my tablet . I had forgotten it in the washroom and someone had turned it in . Wow ! It affirms my belief that people are good.

Arriving in Dublin at 8:30 was good although it was raining. Fortunately it didn't last too long . I found my bus and my BnB with little difficult . I was able to drop my luggage and have a cup of coffee and a visit with the owner but was unable to check in that early . Fortunately the National Irish Botanical Gardens is @900 metres according to MAPSME so I headed to the gardens. It is really large and the greenhouses are a big part of them . I enjoyed them but they were hot and made me sleepy . The Rose Garden was spectacular and the smell was awesome . But the need to be horizontal was too strong and I headed back for a shower and a nap .

It was good .In 3 hours I found the bus to get down to the TempleBar area to walk and gawk . I liked it . LOTS of people around , most seemed happy to be there . The cobblestone streets and many of the buildings are more than 200 years old . There were street musicians playing on several different corners . They were good and seemed to be having fun . I had a hard time choosing a restaurant as there were many cuisines being offered . Finally chose Lebanese and a spicy chicken kofta with a glass of red wine from Lebanon.

By the time I finished eat I was pooped . Found my bus and made my way home and slept for 9 hours.

Today I did the hop on hop off bus and first did the nearly 2 hour ride around . Ended up at the National Museum of Art , St Patrick's Cathedral and when I returned to the Guiness Storehouse they were sold out !!! Oh well . I did have a nice walk and found a restaurant that serves a great seafood chowder served with a wonderful brown bread . I also had a Guiness . Probably my last ...

I found the hotel I will move to tomorrow and where I will meet the group I will travel with the next 9 days .

Time to quit for the night . Hope all is well with you and yours . Keep in touch.

Advertisement



7th October 2022

SOUNDS GOOD
ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!
8th October 2022

Yay!
So glad to hear you’ve arrived and all is going well. Beautiful October day here. Love your blog.
8th October 2022

What an adventure !
That is such a long trip! I am so glad that you didn’t lose your tablet and made it safe to Dublin. Happy thanksgiving ! Looking forward to hearing more …
8th October 2022

travel pro.
Good for you Pam. You could be my guide anytime. It is great to have seen so much in one day, sounds like a great start.
8th October 2022

On The Road Again
Great to see you are off adventuring again. Found Dublin to be a fun city too. Will follow along . Am finishing up my first trip oistcCOVI. too … spent 12 days just relaxing on the Costa dark Sol in Spain, and am now in England visiting family… so good to be adventuring too .
9th October 2022

Happy Thanksgiving
Hello. Glad to hear that you found your bearings so well upon arrival in Dublin. I am not a fan of Guinness so I know what you mean. I hope that you have a good tour over the next few days and that the rain remains soft and sporadic. Happy Thanksgiving. Mo
9th October 2022

Enjoying Dublin through your eyes
Keep up the great updates. Have fun!!!
10th October 2022

Ireland.
I remember having great seafood chowder in Ireland. Looking forward to your next blog. Marilyn

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb