Saturday in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
November 1st 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here's hare hereHere's hare hereHere's hare here

Trays of fresh hare (or rabbit? I would not know the difference) were on display at the Market this morning
Saturday was a wintery day in London, the clouds were low, a cold arctic breeze was blowing and the rain slapped against the apartment window.

Paul, myself and Mark (who has now returned from Hong Kong) ventured out to get some breakfast at Borough Market . We headed straight to the Roast to go for some sausage and bacon baps to eat whilst we meandered around the busy market. We had coffee at Brindisa and then Paul and I did some shopping in the market for lunch time.

Without the sun it felt much closer to winter than it had all week. The market's stalls were full of freshly caught winter game - venison, rabbits, pheasants, duck, quail and grouse lined the market. As always Saturday at Borough Market is a busy place.

In the afternoon I spent a lot of time trying to secure my accommodation in Madrid. I had requested an apartment on the Friday morning and despite being told that I would get a response in 24 hours, 32 hours had past and I had heard nothing.

I had no time to sit around and wait so I chatted on line to the friendly but useless call
Oh DeerOh DeerOh Deer

Is this venison? I'm not sure, but it is certainly fresh!
centre woman at Holiday City to ask her what was happening.

Predictably powerless she only responded with "we will get back to you with 24-48 hours" I told her that her answer was not acceptable, that I was going to be in Madrid within the next 24 hours and that I needed a place confirmed TODAY.

With great determination (driven by frustration) I searched the internet for a new place. In the end I chose the Petit Palace Italia hotel which is in a great location and it was confirmed immediately. Saturday night dinner we were going out for dinner at the Blueprint Café - but first it was an afternoon siesta and there was a couch with my name on it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Tower BridgeTower Bridge
Tower Bridge

A cloudy and damp evening in London - the Gherkin at times was covered in cloud.


Tot: 0.566s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.2674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb