Last days of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm in the lobby of our hotel waiting for the boys so I figured I'd update.

The day before yesterday mom and I said goodbye to most of our tour mates and headed on a double decker hop on, hop off London tour. We saw everything of London like Big Ben, Parliament, the London Eye, London Bridge, Tower Bridge, London Tower, Buckingham Palace, the Horse Guards, Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus, etcetcetc. We had lunch at a little place called Garfunkels...it was yummy.

That took most of the day, and then yesterday we went on the Windor Castle, Stonehenge, and Oxford tour. Windsor castle was great... it's where the Queen resides. The flag flown above the castle tells whether or not she's there. A Union Jack flag means she's away, and then her personal crest flag means she's there...and yesterday, she was there! So that was kinda cool, being at the same place as the Queen.

Then we went to Stonehenge which was AMAZING. I know we saw it from far away before, but up close is SO much better. It's just really neat to see all these things I've heard about my whole life! And I love the enigma that surrounds Stonehenge...way cool.

Then we headed off to Oxford, where we toured Christchurch college, part of Oxford University, which has the Great Hall that was used in the filming of Harry Potter. The hall was really neat, and totally looked like the one in the movie...although a bit smaller.

So yesterday was good except that I broke a part of my camera. I was rushing off the bus because everyone behind us seemed to push toward the front and long story short I dropped it. The filter on the front of it shattered so I feared the worst...but luckily it wasn't the lens, just the protective filter. However, it jammed the filter into the lens so I can't take it off. I removed most of the glass (being VERY careful not to scratch the lens) but now I can't put any other filters on since it's warped and I can't get it off. I need to find a camera store soon that has tools that can possibly help...because I want to get another protective filter on ASAP or else next time I drop it, it'll be the actual lens that breaks. Fingers crossed... but the whole incident kinda put a damper on yesterday.

Where are those boys?! Haha don't worry though, Monique, I'm sure they're coming...our hotel IS a bit out of the way. I'll make sure we update ASAP when we're all together. :D

Said goodbye to the last 2 tourmates we had. An older couple named Len and Lorraine...they've been married for 50 years I think they said. Lorraine was SO feisty...she wore a mirror on her shoe to the Scottish show to get to the bottom of the mystery of what men wear under their kilts!!! HAHAHA so anytime we saw something about kilts and not wearing anything underneath (books, postcards, etc...they had A LOT of stuff), we let her know. Super sweet couple, I'll miss everyone a lot.

Okay I'm typing more than I'm sure you want to read. See ya later!!

Advertisement



24th June 2008

Wishing I was there
Hi Katie and Carol, I wish I was there with you two. Can't wait for the next entry, I check almost daily. Can't wait for some more pics.
26th June 2008

what a dirty lady. lol. nah, i'd probably do it too! hahahahahaha

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb