Hello from Belgium!!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi! Kate here!

Well, to ease everyone's mind, the three of us are together! The boys got to our hotel in London around 11:15 AM yesterday. We hung out with my mom for about 45 minutes while they got cleaned up (boy did they smell like sweat! Haha!) and then we said bye to her! We found our hostel in London without much trouble and ate some pizza. Then we headed into the main part of London (Westminster, actually), and rode the London Eye which was pretty cool, had some great views. Then we went to a pub and had some dinner and drinks. They introduced me to a REALLY good alcoholic cider that was way better than the delicious Strongbow we'd been drinking so that was nice. ALTHOUGH the boys were rushing me (I'm a slow drinker) and I ended up chugging about a half a pint of the stuff...which was carbonated. I didn't mind the alcohol (I was barely feeling it), but the carbonation did NOT sit well. Let's just leave it at that...HAHA. A good night though! We went back to the hostel and crashed.

We woke up this morning at what we THOUGHT was 6:35 AM for our 8:05 AM Chunnel ride to Brussels. We arrived at the station thinking it was about 7:15 AM or so...then we looked at our ticket and realized it said that we HAD to exchange our ticket for a boarding pass NO LATER than one hour before our departure. SHIT. However, through some odd incident of fate, Ian's alarm clock was AHEAD by an hour, so we had plenty of time. Weird!! Just glad it wasn't the other way around. So we were way early, but I'll take it! Haha. The trip to Brussels was shorter than we thought by an hour because of the time change...so that was nice!

I'm glad our travel agent person, Leslie, recommended only one night here. Brussels is a cool city but I couldn't imagine staying here for more than one day. We walked around, found some Indian food, and found Grand Place, which is the major monument here. They were having some sort of parade of police, with some guy yelling commands in German. We were afraid we stumbled upon some Nazi ceremony or execution or something, haha, it was funny.

Then we found Mannequin Pis, which is like, the national attraction of Belgium I suppose. It's basically a little tiny statue of a guy peeing in a fountain, and they dress him up for special occasions. Wow. It was pretty funny, but definitely not national attraction worthy. Crazy Belgians.

Everyone speaks French here, so I've gotten a chance to practice a little. I still suck though, but apparently the small amt. of French I DO know sounds okay enough for people to want to carry on a conversation with me. HAH.

Now we're just chilling out at the hostel drinking and playing pool and cards. It's pretty hopping here, lots of people. Tomorrow we take the train to Brugge, Belgium.

This computer doesn't have a slot for me to upload pictures from but I hope to find one sooooon!!

We're doing great, getting along great, and having a blast!! Love ya!!

Advertisement



25th June 2008

Is Brugge the same place from that movie we saw with Colin Farrell? Wasn't it called En Brugge? That would make sense! I love your updates and I miss you guys. I look forward to hearing about all your adventures. Stay safe!
26th June 2008

Glad you are w/them Kate
Thanks for the up-date, looking forward to the next great adventure. Stay safe, we love you.
26th June 2008

Chocolate
Have some chocolate and bring me back some from Brugge.

Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb