Day 1: I'm going on an adventure.


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Up at 3.30 to start the long journey to Australia. Taxi turned up on time and dropped me off the bus stop and it was there that I had my first hiccup. Tried to get on the bus using my first mobile ticket but the driver did not have me on his manifest. He kept looking at my ticket and it was the. That I noticed that the date was the 5/5. Tomorrow. I'm not sure if he noticed that but he let me on anyway, which was a relief. No begging necessary.



Slept a bit on the bus and arrived at Heathrow. Checking in was painless so at least those e-tickets worked Ok. Security was the next obstacle. The big shock was my arm did not set off the metal detector. I think the guard was take. Back by the look of shock on my face as I was convinced it would set it off. My bag wasn't so lucky though. So I sat for what feelt like half an hour while they searched the bag of an American student who had the largest and most intricately packed bag I had seen. Just before I drifted off it was my turn for the search. I was convinced it was the chargers but turned out to be the can of deodorant. This irritated me for several reasons. First it's end of line and I only have a few cans left as they keep discontinuing the scents I like. I had only switched it into my hand luggage at the last minute so I could freshen up at Singapore. I had also checked the announcements on liquids several times and none mentioned that. Most irritating is that after we binned it I went into boots around the corner and they were selling lots of cans the same size. As you can't take them on planes I have no idea who they are trying to sell them to security side.



All in all slight niggles but everything going fine. About to buy a camera as mine is still missing. I'll try and update again in Singapore.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb