The Yellow Brick Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Surrey Hills
May 5th 2013
Published: May 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So Singapore came and went without an update so I'll backdate some entries now.

The flights to Australia were a mixed bunch. On the first flight (13 hours) I managed to get a window seat next to a friendly Latvian girl I spent time chatting to in between watching several movies. The selection of films was much better than I expected, even though I had already seen most of them. First up was F. W. Murneu's Sunrise, which has been on my to see list for a while. Next was Bernie. An interesting comedy from Linklater and Jack Black. It had a lot to like, especially Black, but overall I'm not too sure. Finally there was Perks of Being a Wallflower. I'd heard good things about this but missed it at the cinema. The word of mouth was right and I really enjoyed this coming of age story. Probably my favourite of the three.

Apart from that I tried (and mostly failed) to get some sleep and read some of my book before landing in Singapore.

Singapore was a humid 32c when arrived. It was only a 2 hour stop and went pretty quickly. Highlight of the trip was the butterfly garden (and free wifi). Due to not being able to find any charging points I was unable to try out my new Canon SX500 IS. It also didn't help that I had misplaced my memory card in my main luggage so had to but a new card. You can never have too many MicroSD cards. I did manage to get a few shots with my phone which I have attached.

The second flight (7 hours) was a total disappointment compared to the first. Stuck in the middle between two elderly Japanese businessmen. Due to my height and the fact the guy in front liked to recline I couldn't see anything on the screen. So after failing to watch Gangster Squad then proceeded to sleep very badly for the rest of the journey.


Anyway, I finally arrived in Sydney at 6:30 in the evening to be met by Sarah and James. A fine meal, company and a bit of TV later and I was ready to go to bed to get plenty of rest for my first sights of Sydney the next day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb