The life and times of...?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Why do I write so many of these? Maybe I won't have too much time after classes start. It seems that everytime I am between going out, I come down here to check an e-mail and add one of these. Is anyone besides my family and Coral actually reading these? No big deal if so or not, just wondering. But then again, maybe I will write just as much because my "first year experience" class requires us to journal. So, I'll just copy and paste some of these to my FSU blackboard account 😊

What have I done since last we chatted? This afternoon I bought a USB drive from some Indian man who gave me a discount. I'm pretty sure that some of those drives were used. Why else would the same exact drive be a different price for everyone. And some of them looked kind of scratched. I bought the cheapest one I could find and it was still £10 after the discount! When I asked him if I could get a student concession on top of that he said no. Then he asked me why I thought students should get discounts, I told him because we are
DanDanDan

And a few boys that I don't remember the names of... Ryan?
poor, and he said "no, because they are our future" with the this far off starry look in his eyes. I laughed but then he shot me a death stare, so we got out of there right after he finished printing my receipt. And by printing I mean with a full since printer on a sheet of paper 8''x11''.

After that I headed back to the room for just a bit, I didn't realize how tired I was until I had climbed the stairs, then my bed looked so inviting I just had to pop in for a bit. Then I fell asleep, but Arielle woke me up from the flat across the hall and invited me to go with the other girls for some fish and chips. It was soooo expensive! £10. I know I am obsessed with prices. But you would be too. But the crazy russians that owned it were really nice. They gave us a postcards and everything. But when we arrived initially, all the tables outside were full so we were waiting, and one of the workers came out and asked us if we were eating in. He told us to go inside and
me and my codme and my codme and my cod

and chips
through the kitchen, down the stairs. We were a little nervous because we literally scraped past the cooks and went right through the kitchen to this small room in the basement. The entire room (which really wasn't that big) was painted as a mural of under the sea. It was really nice, the chips were amazing! But no mushy peas so I was kind of upset. We were going to get something to drink there, but on the way we passed a pub that had loads of people standing outside, so we decided to check it out afterwards. Apparently it is one of the most popular pubs/bars because it has so much space outside. Brits love to order drinks and then stand outside. There is a law that you can't take the drink with you anywhere outside the facility. So we stayed in the brick courtyard thingy until we finished them. It was very exciting. We all only had one, but it was still fun. I ordered a cider because beer is gross, this is sweeter but it actually has a higher alcoholic content than the lager. It was so exciting to walk up to the counter and order it myself. They didn't even card me! I was ready for it too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ArielleArielle
Arielle

In the basement of the fish and chips place
HomeHome
Home

Part of my street


29th August 2008

wow that is some seriously expensive fish and chips!
30th August 2008

oh my lord!
haha, i'm so obsessed with your london life..i'm loving every minute of it.. honestly, it almost seems a little wierd looking at the pictures, because, just two days ago, you were in little old merritt island with me, and now you're off on your big adventures :)
30th August 2008

Coralll
hehe I'm glad I have a regular customer :) But remember that although I am meeting new people all the time, none of them compare to any of you guys.
31st August 2008

Just an observation
I love how in the picture of youn and the girls standing with the pints. You have the loudest most giant purse out of anyone there. lol

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb