Happy Birthday Buddies!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm so brilliant at living on a budget. So far I have spent only £36. £1 on postcards and £35 to prepay for my entire paris trip!

The buildings here are so confusing, it is like a labyrinth. I literally got stuck in the basement area for 10 minutes last night trying to head back from the computer lab. You have to go up some stairs, then down others that are hidden near a lift in the back, there better not be a fire here I may never get out. You have to use a swipe card to get in and out of every building and every room. But they close the front door of my building at 5.30, and then I have to go through the basement and out the main building to get out. It's quite confusing but C'est la vie.

Taking a shower here is a big deal, there is zero counter space in the bathroom, so I have to take everything into the bathroom with me and put it on the floor. As I already mentioned, there are no outlets! So I'm doing my hair in the lounge. I have an adapter for my straightener but it made this wierd buzzing noise, I'd I'm kind of afraid of electrocuting myself. But I'll work it out.

We had orientation this morning, free breakfast but they ran out super quick. It went on for 3 hours. And they told me so much I don't think I'll be able to remember it all. They also took us on a practical tour of Bloomsbury, where we saw the pubs, chemist (pharmacy), grocery store, movie theatre, tube station, etc. I met the girls that live in the flat across from me on the tour and I am going to my first pub with them tonight for real fish and chips.

Observation: they have the strangest flavours here. On the plane ride over, I have pretzel nuggets that were vinegar flavoured. And doritos that were T-bone steak and green pepper flavoured? Some guy was handing them out for free on the street, so that was lunch. 😊 It was a promotion, don't worry I don't except food from random strangers. That would be irresponsible and so unadult-living-on-her-own like of me.

Advertisement



29th August 2008

Oooh your first pub how exciting. Just try not to get to sloshed you. can't afford to. Literally hahahahaha!. Love you :)

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb