Dazed and Confused


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Hastings
September 2nd 2005
Published: September 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello other side of the world,

Well. I am completely out of my mind tired, but it's too hot in my dorm to sleep. Who would have thought England is hot?

Things are confusing. Very confusing. The fact that I arrived here on my own without screwing up gives me strength...flight delays, plane problems, train tickets, little villages, school IDs, an overwhelming campus built and not changed since the 60's. 'Nough bitchin though.

but really things are just a bit out of order over here, which is why I am emailing and typing from the library. However, I have great faith that things will improve when classes start. Anyway, 3 1/2 months isnt too long, right? Just kidding. I know I will adapt and have a blast. Right now, I'm just somewhere between culture shock and tired out of my mind.

I have met other people. Most of them are just confused Americans like myself, but that's a start. I only briefly stopped in Brighton, but it seemed like a very cool city...if you go with someone who speaks their language. They have crazy accents.

Today:
Today, I've been all over planes and trains. When I first got here, I found my dorm. Then these other girls I met and I looked around for food, which is very hard to find when you've no clue where to look. First, we wound up in this crazy construction site where the workers were trying to mac on us...but we walked away very fast. When we finally found food, the sight of it made me not hungry anymore (just gonna leave it at that). So, then we went to register, pay bills, get id's...that was a long process, especially because there are alot of hills and the campus is very spread out....bring on those tight buns. So then i found internet and could finally get in touch with my family (I had cell problems). So blahblahblah.

I know that wasn't terribly interesting, but trust me, it is when you are in a totally different world. This is going to be a challenging but character bulding experience. I cannot wait to meet real British kids and take classes and do real English things. I already miss everyone at home and hope they are doing well!!!!! Now, I am going to trek back to the dorm and pass out .





Advertisement



2nd September 2005

have you found Dr. Hammond yet?

Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb