Continuing With British Seaside Towns


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Poole
June 21st 2022
Published: June 21st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Morning Fry upMorning Fry upMorning Fry up

Add fried tomatoes and it would be perfect.
Today I ventured to Poole but not before I ran some errands in Winton and Westborne, which are suburb/surrounding villages of Bournemouth. I bought an all day bus ticket and jumped on buses to and from Bournemouth town centre, the hub for all directions.
The morning began with a proper fry up, a traditional British breakfast in a local pub In Winton. All that was missing was tomatoes. Then I took a bus to Westborne to pick up a book I ordered from a traditional book store. It hadn’t arrived, so I got on a bus to Bournemouth and then on to Poole.

A strange place, the Poole bus station. There is a street map but it makes no sense for a tourist. Someone had advised me to walk through the shopping mall and on to the harbour. But I could see no mall. I asked for directions and was told to walk past Subway and go into the Dolphin. You get strange advice when you ask for directions in England, usually you are told to walk through five bizarrely named streets (that all curve in weird ways) and under at least one train bridge. So I went to the
Today was a bus dayToday was a bus dayToday was a bus day

I must have jumped on eight different buses.
shop named Dolphin, and discovered it was doors to a regular shopping mall. I went through to the other side and came out onto Poole’s high street. It is a long street with tons of charity shops and I went into nearly every one and bought a summer dress. Near the end, it turns into the old town part if the high street, and then opens up to the harbour front. I really liked the historic houses, pubs and cafes. Poole harbour is very large with all kinds of boats: sailboats, yachts, fishing boat, tour boats, and larger working boats. I didn’t see much of a beach, but I didn’t walk the entire length of the harbour side.

All of these towns and villages have their own British charms, but I think Westborne is my favourite. It has beautiful shops and pubs along a very handsome high street. It does not have the worn out sections that are in the other towns


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Amazing salad in Westborne café Amazing salad in Westborne café
Amazing salad in Westborne café

Halloumi and falafel a salad with heated red peppers and tons of power foods such as beans, pomegranate seeds and toasted lentils.
Quirky Westborne cafe for lunchQuirky Westborne cafe for lunch
Quirky Westborne cafe for lunch

Only complaint is that strange non-service that’s in restaurants here. You have to go to bar to other and pay for food, and you have to go get your own glass of water. Guess that is why no one tips for service.
Poole side street Poole side street
Poole side street

Traditional housing
Classic British pub near the quayClassic British pub near the quay
Classic British pub near the quay

Zoom in and read black sign
Lord Baden PowellLord Baden Powell
Lord Baden Powell

Created Boy Scouts


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb