Two Bucket List Items now off list!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Tavistock
September 24th 2018
Published: September 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tavistock


Folks, this is going to be a short one tonight! It is 9:00, we just got back from a wonderful meal, and we have to meet the group at 7:30 in the morning when we will have breakfast before starting on a LONG day of touring. Touring is NOT for sissies for sure!

We have had a wonderful day. As the title indicates, I clicked two big items off of my bucket list today. They included seeing Stonehenge, which I wrote my high school term paper on way back ___ (fill in the blanks!) years ago, and seeing the Magna Carta in Salisbury Cathedral was another long held wish. Imagine doing both in the same day! I could write paragraphs about both, but I am tired and ready to hit the hay, so you are just going to have to figure it out by looking at the pictures and then Googling anything that you have further interest in learning about!

We did have a great drive today. England is a beautiful country and I think we were both a little surprised at how different the part we have seen here in the last few days is from Ireland and Scotland. The hills, especially in Devon, are rolling and the fields are all enclosed by hedge rows vs the rocks used so much in Ireland and Scotland. The weather today was perfect—a little cool, but beautiful blue skies with puffy white clouds. Fingers crossed for good weather tomorrow as we will be taking a boat ride. Our hotel this evening, The Bedford in Tavistock, is quite old. According to Google, the town itself was built on the remains of a Benedictine Abbey, and was given its Royal Charter in 1105. It was an inn in 1719 and later transformed into The Bedford Hotel in 1822. It is the birthplace of Devon Cream Tea—we are not sure what that is, but we plan to try it out for lunch tomorrow, so stay tuned. The hotel is lovely and I may have some pictures of it for you tomorrow. In the meantime...

Stick a fork in me—I am done! Enjoy the pictures and good wishes to all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



24th September 2018

Superb pictures and great weather
I hope you continue to get good weather for the rest of the trip. I loved the pictures you both rest up you have lots to see and do. Watch your step and enjoy to the fullest. Church was very similar to a church we saw in Germany on our Baltic cruise. Beautiful
25th September 2018
Info on Magna Carta

Sounds, and looks like, you had a great day. Thanks for taking the time to share this blog. I’ve heard the term Magna Carta, but didn’t know what it meant. So I looked it up. I started to read about it, but got distracted. I’ll try to read it tomorrow. Or maybe you will have to explain it to me later. (I really shouldn’t try to read anything substantive after 9 pm)
25th September 2018
Stonehenge

Goose bumps or chills
Do you ever get goose bumps or chills when you at a really old land mark or Cathedral? I get chills just looking at your photos. Good ones of course and awe!
25th September 2018

Yeah For The Bucket List!
Well now I don’t have to worry about you dying before you see Stonehenge! I have wanted you to see it since we visited there. AND The Magna Carta! Glad you had a great day!?
25th September 2018

WOW
You wore me out just looking at your beautiful pictures! You are seeing and learning about so much! Stonehenge is amazing and I love the tomb pictures. You are getting so much information. I know you are having a great time. I hope you get well rested tonight and are ready for your day tomorrow!
26th September 2018

Have you seen “Doc Martin?”
26th September 2018

No, but our tour director talked about it. I think it was filmed in this area? I’m going to have to see if I can find it on Apple TV I guess! I have been hung up on Poldark.
8th October 2018

I sometimes feel as old as Stonehenge!
My wife's family is from Devon, so it's an area we know well. You are certainly seeing a lot of places in a short time - but, of course, you'll be able to re-visit them when you get home by reading your blogs.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb