Derbyshire 159 - Chesterfield - a drop of rain/it is hump day and shopping


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
July 10th 2020
Published: July 10th 2020
Edit Blog Post

"The whole moon and the entire sky are reflected in one dewdrop on the grass " Dogen - Funny how rain can either enhance your day or ruin it. I love rain. Not the bucketloads that sometimes fall out of a leaden sky. But that was what Hump day gave me . Not that lovely drizzle of April showers from a light coloured sky. No it was the sort of rain that drenches you . Wet and heavy and the sort that lingers all day long. It is weather that we have experienced over the last few days. Day 109 - a day of more than a drop of rain and Day 110 of lockdown which gave me more of the same. The sort of Wednesday and Thursday morning were you poke your head out of bed and realise the heating has come on. Heating in July now that is a first . It is the sort of day where one side of brain says "Get up it is a working day and you have a lot ahead of you" The other side replies " get that head back under the bedclothes and have a duvet day" " There is nothing worth getting up for. " Other side the positive side replies " Now that is lazy - get up there is a whole day ahead of you - make the most of it and stop letting the rain get in the way"

Shopping did not feel very appealing Standing out in the rain. Queueing in the rain waiting for the shop to open. I could not even get out for a walk . Too damp, Too wet , too miserable .

I got in the car and set off . I had realised that the stores had gone back to pre-Covid opening times . I could fill up with petrol and hopefully the shop had opened at 6am rather than 7am. As I drove the roads were quieter . Was it the awful weather or the fact I was an hour earlier? After filling up I drove into the supermarket car park . Quite a few people were there already. The doors were open . I picked up my trolley and headed in. The shop had changed it format. No -one outside the door monitoring our behaviour. No one queuing . The lady who discusses Skegness was there before me but not one of the usual suspects. The one way system had gone . The floor was marked out in two metre squares. Was it better ? I was not sure. It was good to walk round the way I wanted but somehow I wished the one way system was back. Shopping was more of a pleasure than normal.

Back home to a walk . Down to the chiropodist . Finally my feet have been pampered and all was well with my world .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb