Derbyshire 157 - Chesterfield /Day 106 / 187 gone - 179 left / How long have I been a member ?????


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
July 6th 2020
Published: July 6th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Day 106 Sunday - the church bells are still quiet . The churches are open now for services I think . But services without singing . Can you imagine that ? A church without music is like Liberace without his silver candlesticks . With Morecombe without Wise . Music always makes a church . When abroad singing or chanting , even piped music gives a church its atmosphere. Weddings are on again but with limited numbers. Is that a bad thing? Might scale down those lavish over the top events of 300 guests or more .

It is a horrible day . Nothing like July . Cold , miserable , slightly wet and dreary . And then there is the wind . Blowing through the trees . Not the sort of morning for a walk . But I have to go . It is the perfect start to a day despite the awful weather . So Day 106 . 187 days of the year have gone . We are in month 7 . The height of summer . Only another 179 days left to the end of the year . I had not got much of an idea where to walk . I guess by now I am rather devoid of ideas . I cannot find anywhere I have not been before . Every garden has been inspected along my routes. I know every road , every lane and every blade of grass. I find nothing new to photograph. My mind just trips all over the place . Will the weather improve? The weather forecasters say no probably not. We have a few awful days ahead.

My thoughts went all over the place. I have been a member of Travel blog for 9 years . I joined way back in August 2011. I have written 866 blogs and added 4774 photographs , recieved blog poster awards , joined the Hall of Fame , commentator , 142 comments and 73 messages some of which are spam. I thought about the places I had visited and not ever written a blog about. Hastings, Winchester and the Isle of Wight. I would be up to a lot more blogs if I had written about them all.

The smell of sausage and bacon permeate the air. It is always the same on Saturdays and Sundays. The days that the world eats Full English breakfasts.

Advertisement



6th July 2020

866 & counting
Well done, Jennifer. An auspicious total indeed. The church bells may be quiet but will they toll when you pass the magic 1,000 which is not too far away?!!!
7th July 2020

1000
I hope my 1000 will be in some far flung place :) Love your travels . We need a world of travel back .

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb