The End Is The Beginning


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » West Hampstead
December 30th 2014
Published: March 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Angkor, CambodiaAngkor, CambodiaAngkor, Cambodia

#2 on my list of Top Man-Made Sights.
I still remember the day I arrived in London seven years ago, disembarking the Eurostar when it still terminated at Waterloo. I was tired and was looking forward to staying put for awhile, which was exactly what I did with my cousin Nicola and her boyfriend (now husband) at their flat in Kilburn Park, on their couch while I went about setting myself up with work and a place of my own - buckling myself in for the ride that would be life in London.

I was always going to stay awhile - at least the six years it would take to get a British passport - before seeing what I wanted to do next. As you can imagine, waiting those years for my passport was anything but akin to a prison sentence - I enjoyed every moment of my time in London and never felt like ever leaving what is one of the greatest cities in the world.
Among the best things about living there are the travel opportunities - within four hours of flying time you can end up in any one of fifty different countries, each with their own unique culture and for the majority of them,
Pyramids Of Giza, EgyptPyramids Of Giza, EgyptPyramids Of Giza, Egypt

#5 on my list of Top Man-Made Sights.
their own foods and language. So travel I did, making the most of the cheap flights on offer to go on weekend getaways, city breaks, week-long adventures, and two-week journeys discovering the lands of Europe and beyond - as many as the public holidays and my annual leave would allow.

When I arrived in London on Halloween 2007, I had just completed a four-and-a-half month trip through the US and Europe - the sojourn that awakened my passion for travelling and inspired the creation of this blog. A few days after, I wrote a blog entry that summarised the highs and lows, the best and worst, the hottest and coldest, and the liveliest and quietest of four-and-a-half months on the road.
To be completely honest, I cringe a little when I look back at what I wrote - I was a different person then, one with less maturity, less experience and less understanding in my views of the world and society. I do however, still like the idea and the premise of the entry - a chance for me to remember the places I enjoyed the most and why, and to allow readers of the entry a glance at
St. Petersburg, RussiaSt. Petersburg, RussiaSt. Petersburg, Russia

#2 on my list of prettiest cities.
the highlights (and lowlights) of all my experiences.

Therefore this entry, like that entry, is a list of lists highlighting all of my favourite things from seven years of excursions from London.
Not all the lists from last time will be repeated this time as some of them are now irrelevant, impossible to recall, or in some cases, even inappropriate! In addition to this, there will also be some new categories.
My "best of" entry ended up being my most-read entry - and thus the justification for doing another one. Give the people what they want.
Therefore I hope you'll be able to get something out of this entry, be it inspiration, information or entertainment.

So without further ado, I present to you the good, the bad and the ugly from seven years of trips from London. All lists are countdowns; short-listing and ranking everything was an extremely hard thing to do!

Top 10 Experiences
10. Quad biking on the alien landscape of Cappadocia
9. Hiking Crete's Samaria Gorge
8. Canyoning near Slovenia's Lake Bled
7. Seeing the Northern Lights in Lapland
6. Quad biking and watching the sunset in Santorini
5. Going for an ice swim when it's -27ºC outside in Lapland
4. Climbing Mt. Sinai in the middle of the night
3. Hiking to the top of Ihla Grande's Parrot's Peak in Brazil
2. Carnaval in Rio
1. A walking tour through the sometimes hostile Orthodox Jewish neighbourhoods of Jerusalem and learning about the fascinating lives and experiences of Orthodox Jews from a tour guide who was one himself for forty years.

Top 5 Stories
5. A mad-dash from Pushkin to St. Petersburg to catch my train out of Russia and avoid overstaying my visa
4. Getting hit by a motorbike in Crete
3. Narrowly avoiding a terrorist bomb blast in Marrakesh
2. An 11-hour dash from London to Paris by bus, train, taxi and ferry in a dramatic race against time to catch a flight out to Cairo
1. Getting kicked off my overnight train to Lithuania by Russian border police for detainment and interrogation before being transported to the Latvian border, 55km from the nearest town with only my feet to get me there and the rest of the way to Lithuania.

Top 5 Trips
5. Budapest, Hungary - I enjoyed Budapest for the variety of things to see and do
Northern Lights, FinlandNorthern Lights, FinlandNorthern Lights, Finland

#7 on my list of Top Experiences.
and the fact that it was easy on your wallet.
4. Krakow, Poland - The liquor flowed freely and cheaply on this boys weekend away. Lots to see and do including shooting machine guns!
3. Iceland (Parts 1 & 2) - Iceland was the perfect place to go to get away from it all and to see some fantastic natural sights.
2. Greek Islands (Parts 1, 2 & 3) - Hard to beat a week of swimming, sailing and sun with nine of your mates while getting completely hammered every second night.
1. Brazil (Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5) - The biggest party known to man, awesome sights, and the best beaches I've seen to date - it didn't get better than this.

Top 10 Favourite Cities
10. Bordeaux, France - I was pleasantly surprised by Bordeaux's architecture, energy and unpretentious vibe.
9. Reykjavik, Iceland - Cute, pretty and quiet during the week, Reykjavik lets its hair down on the weekend. Don't miss the runtur every Friday night.
8. Bergen, Norway - Laid back and magnificently located between the mountains and the sea, see the fjords, hike the Seven Mountains or do both.
7. Sarajevo, Bosnia & Herzegovina - One of the
Rio de Janeiro, BrazilRio de Janeiro, BrazilRio de Janeiro, Brazil

#1 on my list of favourite cities.
most fascinating cities I have visited given its recent history and its uniqueness as a European Islamic city.
6. Istanbul, Turkey - A fascinating melting pot of east meets west with some of the most important sights in the world.
5. Krakow, Poland - Cheap and with lots to see and do. Nightlife is great and nearby Auschwitz is a must-visit.
4. Budapest, Hungary - Again, cheap and with loads to see and do, Budapest is the perfect city break. Don't miss the thermal baths.
3. Granada, Spain - Was surprised by the size, prettiness and energy of the city. You get free tapas at every bar and Granada also has the Alhambra. I didn't want to leave.
2. Tel-Aviv, Israel - Could be the next big destination if Israel sorts its shit out. Fantastic location by the beach and a superb culinary scene.
1. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - Rio is the most scenic city I have been to so far, with its iconic sights and beaches. Such an interesting place too with all of its distinctly unique neighbourhoods. An exotic riot of sights and sounds.

Top 10 Prettiest Cities
10. Segovia, Spain - Segovia boasts a kick-ass Roman aqueduct, a massive cathedral, and a fairytale castle.
Oia, GreeceOia, GreeceOia, Greece

#1 on my list of prettiest cities.

9. Bern, Switzerland - The whole town is made of a beigy-grey sandstone and it has a distinctly medieval feel.
8. Piran, Slovenia - Slovenia's answer to Dubrovnik.
7. Valletta, Malta - Like Bern, Malta's capital is built almost completely out of a local golden limestone and it has some unique architecture.
6. Rethymno, Greece - Rethymno boasts a lively waterfront and a pedestrianised old town of alleys decorated with colourful shutters, bougainvillea and al-fresco restaurants.
5. Paraty, Brazil - Entering Paraty's old colonial maritime town is like entering a time warp back into the 1800s.
4. Sarlat-la-Caneda, France - The epitome of a French medieval town.
3. Chefchaouen, Morocco - Every building in this laid-back town in the mountains is painted light blue.
2. St. Petersburg, Russia - Some call it the "Venice Of The North" and rightly so.
1. Oia, Greece - This is the postcard picture you see of the Greek Islands - bleached houses with blue roofs, perched on a cliff looking out to the sunset over the sea.

Top 10 Man-Made Sights
10. Selime Monastery - Turkey - A massive church complex, built into a massive cave.
9. Karnak Temple - Egypt - An archaeologist's wet dream.
8. Ephesus - Turkey - This important ancient town is remarkably intact.
7. Pantheon - Rome, Italy -
Petra, JordanPetra, JordanPetra, Jordan

#1 on my list of Top Man-Made Sights.
Though not perhaps the most eye-catching sight, the Pantheon's precise design makes it an engineering wonder.
6. Duomo - Milan, Italy - One the biggest churches with probably the most intricately designed church exterior I have ever seen.
5. Pyramids Of Giza - Egypt - How the hell did they build these things?
4. St. Peter's Basilica - Vatican City - Definitely the grandest and most opulent church I have ever seen, befitting of being the most important church in Catholicism.
3. Termessos - Turkey - Destroyed by an earthquake, the ruins of this hidden gem of an ancient city evokes Atlantis. The dramatically-located cliff-side amphitheatre is the highlight.
2. Angkor - Cambodia - This humongous network of temples is breathtaking.
1. Petra - Jordan - Hands down the best sight I have ever seen. Gallivanting around this ornate ancient city built into the red cliffs made you feel like Indiana Jones.

Top 5 Natural Sights
5. Giant's Causeway - Northern Ireland - I still don't quite understand how the thing was formed. It was formed naturally, you say?
4. Pamukkale - Turkey - A unique sight of white, hot-pools at the top of a hill, that makes the hill look snow-capped.
3. Skocjan Caves - Slovenia - Contains an underground canyon where you walk 45 metres above the river below. The biggest caves I have
Caldera - Santorini GreeceCaldera - Santorini GreeceCaldera - Santorini Greece

#1 on my list of Top Natural Sights.
ever seen.
2. Gullfoss - Iceland - The biggest waterfall I have seen to date, falls seemingly into an abyss.
1. Caldera - Santorini, Greece - The island of Santorini formed as a result of a massive volcanic eruption that did for the Minoan civilisation.

Top 5 Countrysides
5. Switzerland - Cows, round hay bales, wooden huts and a mountainous backdrop creates quite the scene.
4. France - Vineyards, chateaus and medieval towns is what you be looking at in the French countryside.
3. Scotland - Rugged, barren and brown, with lots of peaks and lochs - the Highlands are spectacular.
2. Ireland - I was a little surprised by the Irish countryside - not just lush, green rolling hills but also a bit of rugged, Scottish-like countryside. The Ring Of Kerry is unmissable.
1. England - Yay, something England has finally won! The illustrations in The Wind In The Willows are a pretty accurate rendering of the English countryside.

Top 5 Countries For Food
5. Brazil - I have pretty much included Brazil for acai alone. I miss my banana and cinnamon toasties too.
4. Israel - Mainly due to the excellent fusion restaurants found in Tel-Aviv.
3. Spain - Tapas, churros,
Malaysian FoodMalaysian FoodMalaysian Food

The best I have had.
paella, gazpacho, chorizo...
2. France - No-one cooks steak better than the French. The bread baked there is second to none as well.
1. Malaysia - as well as classics such as roti chanai, goreng pisang, satays and char kuay teow, Malaysian cuisine is always throwing up something new, such is the constant cross-pollination of Malay, Chinese, South East Asian and Indian cuisine. If I had to choose the food of one country to eat for the rest of my life, it would be Malaysia, no question.

Top 5 Beaches
5. Mylopotas, Greece - Go tubing if you're feeling energetic, or hit any of the bars backing this golden sand beach; or else just lounge in any of the sun loungers with your strawberry daiquiri.
4. Copacabana, Brazil - Backed by multi-storey hotels and casual botecas, Copacabana is iconic. "Her name was Lola..."
3. Falassarna, Greece - Golden sand, clear water and gentle waves...but the best part is that there is hardly anyone here.
2. Lopes Mendes, Brazil - Totally worth the twenty minute hike through the humid jungle. Sand so pristine, that it squeaks when you step on it.
1. Aventureiro, Brazil - This is the paradise advertised on the postcards. Coconut trees, rock
Aventureiro, BrazilAventureiro, BrazilAventureiro, Brazil

This beach on Ihla Grande is the best I have been to so far.
pools, golden sand and the clearest water I have ever seen - clear enough to see your feet clearly when neck deep in it. And it's your beach because the place is completely deserted.

Top 5 Most Expensive Places
5. Gothenburg, Sweden - £46 for six drinks.
4. Geneva, Switzerland - £30 for two rum & cokes and a bottle of water.
3. Oslo, Norway - £11.35 for a Double Whopper meal at Burger King.
2. Bergen, Norway - £50 for a two-hour cruise through the fjords.
1. Dubai, United Arab Emirates - £57 to go to a waterpark.

Top 5 Cheapest Places
5. Budapest, Hungary - £1.33 for a pint of beer.
4. Vilnius, Lithuania - £8 for one night's accommodation at a hostel.
3. Belgrade, Serbia - £1 a shot.
2. Chefchaouen, Morocco - £3.50 for a three course meal.
1. Phnom Penh, Cambodia - US$28 for a meal at a nice restaurant. For five people, including drinks.

Top 5 Places You Can Probably Skip
5. Basel, Switzerland - Sorry Corb, no reflection on you at all. Just wasn't a great deal to see and do in Basel.
4. Marrakesh, Morocco - Not a lot to see unless you like shopping for leather goods or gimmicky trinkets. Djemaa el-Fna in
Phnom Penh, CambodiaPhnom Penh, CambodiaPhnom Penh, Cambodia

The cheapest place I have visited so far.
the evening and some pimped riads are the only redeeming features.
3. Bratislava, Slovakia - Pretty, but not a lot going on.
2. Bristol, UK - You might like it if you're into art - otherwise it's rough and chavvy, without the fun and liveliness of Liverpool or Newcastle.
1. San Jose, CA, USA - Really spread out. And the downtown area is a shithole.

Hottest Temperature Experienced
39ºC - Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Coldest Temperature Experienced
-37ºC - Jukkasjärvi, Sweden

Top 5 Favourite Countries
5. Iceland
4. Germany
3. Spain
2. Sweden
1. Brazil

So there you have it. What do you think? Agree? Disagree? All thoughts are welcome in the comments section below.

And with that, I will bring to a close another chapter of my travels.
Although taking all of these trips was immensely fun, there were two things about taking them that always sucked; the fact that they were all less than two weeks and that I would inevitably have to go back to work; and that the more people I met and the further afield I travelled, the more places I would have to add to my must-visit list - a list that will take forever to complete while holding down a
English CountrysideEnglish CountrysideEnglish Countryside

The one thing that England has that I think is the best I have seen. Those rolling hills are hard to beat.
job, a list that might perhaps even be impossible to complete.

So to get around both of those problems, I am taking two-and-a-half years off to tick everything off. My goal is to visit 100 countries before I die, and to hopefully to have done it by the end of this epic trip - I am already over halfway there. To travel with no time restriction is to live the dream and to do it now is to do it while I am still young and fit. Money can always be made back - but time and youth are lost forever.

Of course, all of my travels will be recorded right here - you'll be seeing blog entries from Australia, Africa, the Middle East, the UK, Spain, South America, Central America, the Caribbean, Europe (again) and Asia, over the next two-and-a-half years.
It will be some memoir by the end of it - and I'm looking forward to bringing it to you. With an end, comes a new beginning.

Coming to a place near you,
Derek

Advertisement



18th March 2015

Awesome blog!
Our views differ on some of the places you mentioned but it's awesome to read other people's experiences. You are one of the only people I know who have been to Jukasjarvi too, I got married there!
19th March 2015

Um... Where is NZ???
Always a pleasure to read Derek, but your list is a bit heavy on one side of the world. Somewhere in your list, hopefully after you've done you epic journey, there must be places from NZ and China.
19th March 2015

I'll get there eventually...
Hey Davi, nice to hear from you. These are just my travels from London, which is why most of the places on it are in Europe. Indeed once I have done the rest of the world more thoroughly, I will be able to do a more comprehensive list! As for NZ, most of what I have seen happened when I was growing up and before I started blogging. I do plan to eventually tour the South Island at some stage so I am sure there will be some NZ rankings after that!

Tot: 0.403s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 56; qc: 166; dbt: 0.1814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.9mb