English beer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 13th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry, more campus pics Sorry, more campus pics Sorry, more campus pics

I was wandering around campus again. Neat buildings, eh? (fyi- this is the entrance from the Old Court to the gardens)
Yum.

It really is better here. Neen, Beth and I went to the campus pub last night. We asked the bartender about the special, and it was Budvas (or something like that), which he said was the true, Czech-Republic version of the "piss" we call Budweiser in the US. I had a bottle, and it really was smoother and tastier. Wow. My first beer in England. Dad would be so proud.

Bethany and I have been going into town everyday. Its been wonderful. We eat heathily, and walk at least a mile a day, if not more. I swear, I was shaving my legs this morning, and I found muscles in my calves that I didn't know EXISTED. In fact, it's very possible that they didn't exist before all of this walking. I'm going to be so buff when I come home. Sweeet.

I bought a few little gifts in the outdoor market for some people back home. Nothing to expensive, but pretty neat stuff.

Tentitive travel plans:

Sat 15 July - Sun 16 July - Staying in Cambridge. Beth and I are plannign on touring the many many colledges of the town. Expect some rockin' pictures. Then we're going to the theater to see "Annie" that night. On sunday, it's laundry and recovery, and sushi for dinner.

Fri 21 July - Sun 23 July - LONDON!! I can't wait. Prof. Averill helped me find a really nice Bed and Breakfast to too far from the British Museum. Check it out at: www.arranhotel-london.com. It will be Beth, Neen, Erin and myself, I believe, though Erin is planning on staying at a hostel. I saved up for this. I ain't stayin' at no hostel, porky. I'm still trying to narrow down where to go in London. So much to see!

Sat 29 July - Sun 30 July - Erin, Allison, Beth and I are taking a train north to York and Edinburgh. We'll stay the night on Saturday in York, the next day there, spend the next night in Edinburgh, spend the next day there, and head back at the end of that day. I'm excited. It makes me think of something a friend of mine said... (in a scottish accent) "There are only three sizes in Scotland... wee, not so wee, and FRICKIN' HUGE!!" He's great. And his accent is pretty great too.

So thats all really exciting. Let me know what you all think!!

Love, sara


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Garden pathGarden path
Garden path

...damn crane, ruining my picture...
Garden prettinessGarden prettiness
Garden prettiness

It's all so... green!
The menu at dinner last nightThe menu at dinner last night
The menu at dinner last night

Yes, it's made with real shepherds.
Dinner last nightDinner last night
Dinner last night

It was actually delicious, dispite the un-appetizing photo. It tastes like Mom's Cottage Pie. Yum!
DD
D

Thats me , all gussied up for the big night out. And by big night out, I mean walking 20 feet to the campus pub and having a beer. Gosh I look cute, though.
Sorry, here's another one...Sorry, here's another one...
Sorry, here's another one...

I'm not usually very photogenic, so when there are cute pictures of me, I show them all. Sorry. Or am I?
Lady Mitchell HallLady Mitchell Hall
Lady Mitchell Hall

This is the lecture hall. I have now dubbed Tim "Lady Mitchell" in honour of it. I'm not sure he likes it.
Ye Olde PubeYe Olde Pube
Ye Olde Pube

Heh heh. Sorry about the caption. This is Beth and I at the Campus pub.
Ye Olde Pube 2Ye Olde Pube 2
Ye Olde Pube 2

Enjoying my yummy burr.
Ye Olde Pube 3Ye Olde Pube 3
Ye Olde Pube 3

Beff enjoying her Smirnoff Ice. Lush.
Evening lectureEvening lecture
Evening lecture

This gives you a bit of an idea of what the lecture hall is like. Pretty neat. This was taken at the lecture tonight. You can't see it, but the lecturer is totally cute.


13th July 2006

Beer!!!!
I don't think so. Young lady you are not old enough to imbibe(to absorb or soak up). You must watch you morals while in this country, as you represent all americans to those around you and the nation surley want you to be a grand example. Realize the shame you could bring on your mother. I never. Have fun.
15th July 2006

pics
Oh God, Sara, that is the most beautiful campus I've ever seen. But why are you getting all gussied up when I'm not around? Oh well, you gave me pictures at least. Thanks baby. You're cute. :)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb