Exploration continues


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 12th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The streets of Cambridge 1The streets of Cambridge 1The streets of Cambridge 1

It's all so beautiful.
Hello all!

It's been a busy day so far. Up at 7:15, breakfast at 8:00, class at 9:30, plenary lecture at 10:30, and class again at 11:45. Beth went to take a nap after class, so I went to The Buttery and got the equivalent of a Tuna sub. With cucumbers on it. Yum. Then I wandered the gardens a bit, listening to my Ipod. The smell of the gardens is incredible. I've never smelled flowers so fragrant, I've never seen any so colorful.

Yesterday afternoon Beth and I went into town to the Market (big indoor/outdoor mall of sorts), where we bougt a crepe and some boxes of tea. There are bikes EVRYWHERE. It's incredible! And most of the time, the bikes are whizzing by faster than the cars! There was a street band preforming, and they were GOOD. The buildings everywhere are so beautiful and old. You can just imagine the stories they have to tell, could they tell them. Stone, vines, grass, flowers everywhere!

Before I left for England, Mom said to stand and close my eyes and listen to all the languages. I did. Japanese, Russian, English, "American" English, French, and some I couldn't pin point. All bustling around me. You can't find that in Kansas.

I get homesick when I'm not so busy at the end of the day, so before bed, I get a bit sad. The plan tonight? I'm meeting Nin (I don't know how to spell it... it's pronounced "Neen". Shes from Boston) and Amanda (L.A.) and whoever else in front of the lecture hall after evening lecture, and we're going to the campus pub. I can't wait to have "real" beer. No more "fermented nun's piss" for me, darn it!

Love you, miss you.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Sidgwick Ave.Sidgwick Ave.
Sidgwick Ave.

This is the street that runs along the south edge of the University. It's also the way to the market place.
Sidgwick Ave. 2Sidgwick Ave. 2
Sidgwick Ave. 2

Bikers, bikers everywhere!
Classics BuildingClassics Building
Classics Building

This is the back door to my first class.
Classics Building 2Classics Building 2
Classics Building 2

This is the front door to the building my first class is in.
Office WindowOffice Window
Office Window

Random office in the Classical Archeology building. Look at the books!
Office Window close upOffice Window close up
Office Window close up

Close up on the sticker on the office window. Reminds me of you, mom!
BrickworkBrickwork
Brickwork

My walk to class. How horrible!
Campus 1Campus 1
Campus 1

It's a big campus.
This chick is hot.This chick is hot.
This chick is hot.

Me. Adorable, jet-setting little me.
...not so hot......not so hot...
...not so hot...

Yes. I am eating a plant. But you see, I'm american. People are going to make fun of me no matter what I do. I love it.
Garden pathGarden path
Garden path

The walk to class through the garden.
Garden path 2Garden path 2
Garden path 2

To the left of the garden.
Garden path 3Garden path 3
Garden path 3

The way back from class.


12th July 2006

ipod
You know, I heard on the news yesterday that someone was walking along in the rain, and got struck by lightning because their ipod attracted it. Crazy, huh? The guy's ears started bleeding, and a hole was burned through his clothes where the ipod was sitting, but he survived. I don't want to scare you away from your toy or anything like that, but I thought you'd find it interesting. <3
14th July 2006

great blog
Sara--What fun to read your blog. The format looks like Heather's, but you are obviously in a very different place. I'll keep reading.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb