Hail and Barbeque


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So here I am in the "enemy" country from way back in 1776, yet tonight I am going to celebrate like there's no tomorrow (even though there is). I can't remember when my last entry was...I think I was in London. But I've gotten here and settled in, with ease. In the few days I've been here, I've locked myself out of my room at 1:30am (don't worry, I got back in) and currently can't get into my place because our keys won't work on the front door! Je ne comprende pas. Last night I went to my first ever pub quiz, and my team (the "fried americans"--proud of that one, came up with it myself) came in third out of nine places (approximately 12 teams). Camridge is, simply put, charmed. Granted right now there's some sort of "unstable weather system", meaning it can our for 5 minutes and be hotter than you know what the next, but it's beautiful. It was really funny, yesterday I was having some free pizza at the Red Cow, and all of a sudden it began hailing, then raining so hard, I thought it was still hailing...poor bicyclists... People are very nice (except for one bicyclist I almost ran into), they have a daily market (which is my favorite hang out), and they have cobblestoned streets in the city centre. It's hard to describe, but when I load some of the pictures up here, you might get an inkling of what I mean. But the pictures I will load now are not of Cambridge, but Dublin and London.

Advertisement



4th July 2007

You Know...
if we had a 115 mile an hour train - I'd make it to SB and back in no time. What the fuck is it with us Americans who have to have the slow crap?! The Floor - FUCKING AMAZING! I can't believe those little tiles and the work they got out of them. Who ever did that deserves a drink and an applause! I can't believe the pictures! They are just simply amazing. The Globe Theater almost looks like the original that they show you in AP English classes. Pretty damn cool how close they get. BTW. I'm sure you noticed this. But not only did we American's come from Britain but we apparently designed our Capital building after St. Paul's Cathedral....did you get that or was it just me?! So...I'm guessing that a Hind is a doe....is the doe then a ship?! I mean, logical conclusion as you have a picture of it up there....but just to be sure that my logical thinking isn't too far off! Mom says hi and no more locking yourself out of your room/place! Lol. I really thought you weren't going to tell anyone...but then it's here...FOR ALL THE WORLD TO SEE!!! :) Be safe tonight and don't rub it too much in the British's face that they lost us ;) *hugs* Tiff
5th July 2007

you know...
We didn't rub it in the (hot) TA's faces too much...actually they got the last laugh, because those few who stayed to the bitter end ended up puking everywhere looking like arseholes...and the TA's had to clean up...poor people...everyone who didn't get drunk ended up apologizing for those who did, and those who did don't care, I don't think. The 'Golden Hind' is the name of the ship...though that is a logical conclusion.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb