dum dum dum....!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the Rackthe Rackthe Rack

Need I say more?
So, today I went to the Tower of London (and paid a full £13 for it!!!) and enjoyed every minute of it, even though my feet hurt for a long time after. I'm attempting to download my numerous pictures from my camera, but it won't seem to work. Oh well, I'll try to find an internet cafe that will allow me to do this. But anyways, did you know that there is a murder of ravens at the Tower?? I had no idea. It was originally built by William the Conqurer, and the keep was completed (aka the White tower) in 1100 (if I'm remembering correctly). But it was funny, there was a sign in about 9 languages warning tourists that the ravens may bite. lol. I found it amusing as someone was rubbing a bleeding forearm right in front of it. Oh, but the crown jewels are in there too...quite gorgeous, quite expensive looking, but alas, somewhat overrated, I think, because after a while, they all begin to look the same. But I saw the different ways of torturing people in the late middle ages...I got a picture of the rack and saw this interesting this called the "someones (i.e. I can't remember..) daughter" and what it was is an iron ring that forced people into a fetal position, and they couldn't move even an inch. Ouch....Anyways, there were many interesting things there, and pictures say far more than words, so more will come when I can figure out how to download my hundreds of pictures. Ciao for now from the Barbican YMCA (yes, you read right...but hey it's a private room right?) Fyi, I was able to load one photo...but my camera ran low on batteries so I had to cut it short. More later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb