Back in Blighty


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Reading
August 22nd 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My roomMy roomMy room

Back in my room. I have three hours to prepare for leaving for a wedding in Germany. I really should leave this blog and tidy up.
Hello all.

First of all, apologies for leaving you all in a state of suspense over what happened after the Galápagos. After receiving one concerned message (what about the rest of you?) as to my plight: To reassure you, Jeff, that my blog does have a happy ending:

i) I was not eaten by a shark (the white-tipped sharks we did see swam past too quickly to eat me and are anyway apparently vegetarian, or was that the caimans, I don't know...) Either way, I am in one piece.

ii) I did meet some tribal type people in the Amazon but did not indulge in any pot.

iii) (Alas?) despite some pretty special salsa moves and a night of dancing through to dawn, I am not even close to being married to a local bar girl from Baños.

iv) I was not captured by any Brazillians, although I did get a ride in a police car somewhere near the Columbian border...

Hopefully next week I'll get around to putting up more pics and witty insights into SA culture.

Hasta la vista, Estaré espalda,

Tim x


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The gardenThe garden
The garden

Dad has done a lot of work on the garden in the past nine weeks, including constructing a rather nice water feature. Notice the lack of two sheds.
Have you seen this man?Have you seen this man?
Have you seen this man?

New US security requirements result in this rather wonderful document, that gives encoded details of my finger-prints and facial features. Sadly it neglects to include vital defining characteristics such as dancing talent, linguistic abilities and general all-round niceness. (Garden vegetables have been added afterwards to preserve my somewhat personal data (the fingerprint and face part, that is. I'll let you know for free without fear of breaching security that I am a reasonable dancer, can't speak foreign languages for toffee [but maybe for a beer or two] and am generally a nice guy).


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 64; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb