Ukraine


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Lviv
May 1st 2008
Published: May 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So after a good amount of time in Poland I felt it was time for something new. I decided to hop on a train into Ukraine for a bit and see what was going on. I took a train into Lviv and found the only hostel to base myself at, and set out to see the town. It didn't take long to get a feeling I was in a different world.. All the writing was in Cyrillic and it was hard to find anyone who spoke English. I spent a few days eating Perogies and potatoes and exploring churches then I moved on to a small town in the south called Slavski. The Ladies at the hostel in Slavski set it all up and even gave me a paper with all the info to get there and one to give to the people I stayed with, they warned me that the family didn’t speak English. Slavaski has a population of 2500 at most and is a ski village during the winter but when I went was the off season so it was a bit quite. I stayed with a family for a couple nights which was nice but with the language barriers created a little difficulty when trying to communicate. Luckily there was one girl in town who had taken some classes so we were able to work out the basics like what I wanted to eat and if I was happy with my accommodation and what not. So everyday we took the walk to see Natasha and have our chat. It was great, the rest of the time I spent hiking around in the mountains sounding the town. It was a nice change from cities. I really enjoyed time I had in Ukraine and though 6 days was enough I will have to go back. Though it still seemed to be 40 years behind it was rapidly catching up with the rest of the world, so it will be interesting to see what its like in the near future..


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Can you guess what this Saint did??Can you guess what this Saint did??
Can you guess what this Saint did??

Hint.. it is kind of like Ireland..
Lviv Train StationLviv Train Station
Lviv Train Station

Not too bad.
Cool old building..Cool old building..
Cool old building..

there was no info in the book on this one..
Haystacks and firewoodHaystacks and firewood
Haystacks and firewood

Such a quaint little town.
A true Ukrainian dinner.A true Ukrainian dinner.
A true Ukrainian dinner.

At least that’s what the Ukrainians served me. If you can’t make it out there is Potatoes, eggs, Green onion and radish salad, and canned herring topped with radish and onion.


5th May 2008

the Ukraine?
Hi Jim, Did you try to find any information on your great great g'ma Mollie Spector (Brooks)? She was born in Odessa, Ukraine... Have you left already? Take care, Love, Dana

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb