Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Pomerania » Gdansk
April 21st 2008
Published: May 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WesterplatteWesterplatteWesterplatte

This is a Memorial where the first shots of WWII were fired. Me and Marta!!
I ended up in poland just as spring was really starting to hit eastern Europe which was a good change. First, I headed up to Gdansk to visit my friend Marta who lives up there. Gdansk is in right on the Baltic Coast and is where the first shots of WWII were fired (Just thought you needed to know that little fact). I played tourist for a day while Marta was working and then on the following day we went into the country to see the sights and do some hiking. On our little adventure we went to a few small towns walked around a lake or two and even went to a odd kind of museum which you will have to see the photos of (I even saw a Guiness Record Desk!!! I know).
From Gdansk I hoped on a train heading to Warsaw to again Play tourist and see what its all about. I cant really say I am a fan of Warsaw but it is a big city and real had to get around. The old town is amazing and it looks like it was build 200 years ago if not longer but it was all rebuilt after WWII where 85% of the city was destroyed.
Moving along I headed to Krokow to see why it had become such a tourist hot spot. It didnt take long to see why it was the place to be in Europe. The building are amazing, the food is reasonable and the people are very friendly. From Krakow I took a bus to the most deperssing place on earth Auschwitz. I dont think I need to explain what that was like but I added some photos so have a look. Then I spent a day in one of the largest salt mines. I took a tour which was about 2 km into the mine and that was less then 20% of it. There was something like 20 churches in it and everzthing was made out of salt, form the chandeliers to the statues. I really enjoyed Poland and I will definetly put it on my list of places to go back to. But after four days in Krakow it was time to moved on to Ukraine which is a story all in itself..



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

KrakowKrakow
Krakow

Wawel Hill
KrakowKrakow
Krakow

Wawel castle
Wieliczka Salt MineWieliczka Salt Mine
Wieliczka Salt Mine

Everything you see here is made of salt!!! Well except for that guy.
Salt LakeSalt Lake
Salt Lake

with salt people


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb