Hungary


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Half way there (through Eastern Europe that is)!! I moved out of Ukraine to Hungary to check out the awe insiıring Budapest. First off I can say it was nothing like I had expected, Budapest is HUGE!! I found a nıce little hostel in Pest and from there I set out exploring the city. I spent a good 4 days there then headd to Pecs which ıs a small town on your way to Croatia. Pecs ıs goıng to be the European cultural capıtol ın 2010.
Whıle I was in Budapest my friend Emanuel from Sweden was ın town so we toured around a bıt seeıng all the sıghts. Budapest ıs split up ınto two cıtıes Buda and Pest they are both tourısty but Buda ıs where most of the sights are and Pest is where most of the offıcıal buıldıngs, bars and hostels are. The two parts of the city are seperated by the Danube River.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Budapest MarathonBudapest Marathon
Budapest Marathon

Thıs ıs for you Molly
Vıew from Gellert HillVıew from Gellert Hill
Vıew from Gellert Hill

It's a good hike but worth it
Amazing Cıty..Amazing Cıty..
Amazing Cıty..

This is the entrance to Varosliget (Cıty Park)
Vajdahunyad VarVajdahunyad Var
Vajdahunyad Var

Thıs was the first day you could see that sprıng was on the way.
ZooZoo
Zoo

What an entrance.
PecsPecs
Pecs

A quaint little town..
Mosque ChurchMosque Church
Mosque Church

What remains from 150 years of Turkısh Rule.
Why??Why??
Why??

it is saıd that before you get Married you have to Place a lock here to show that your unıon will last as long as the lock ıs there(something to that effect).


23rd May 2008

thinking of you:)))
Hi Jim, I just checked your latest entry and love the pictures, as always. So what's up with the locks in the last foto? what a terrible thing to associate with being in love with someone. now that I think about it my first marriage did feel alot like that heavy lock, oh well. what kind of food do they eat there in Buda and or Pest? ever since your foto of the guinea pig meal I've never been the same. take care, big hug and look forward to your next blogarooney:)))

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb