Kyiv or Kiev ?


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kyiv
July 27th 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ukraine was part of the former Soviet Union and Kiev was translated from Russian to English (romanized letters) and Kyiv is the translation from Ukrainian language to English (romanized letters) So for the sake of the "new" country I am going to refer this famous city as Kyiv.

Kyiv is a big city with a lots of churches. There are several world Heritage sites here. St. Sophie cathedral is a site to see. I climbed up steps to the Bell tower where I can have a bird eye view of the city and it is a view to die for. It is breathtaking. Further away to can see St. Michael Church with golden domes complex.

The metro here is quite sufficient. It is cheap and can help your tired feet. The cost for a subway ride is 50 kopecks (50 cents) and translated to US dollars is ....shocking ...10 cents. Each ride is 10 cents ...can you believe it ? You can buy the plastic green token from the automatic machines where you can insert 1 or 2 hrynia and it will dispense 2 or 4 tokens accordingly. or even me without Russian, I can buy tokens from the cashier window (what else can you buy ? nothing else). The only problem is I dont read cyrillic and it is HARD to find out the right station and the right line to change. Plus, when I got the subway map it is all in romanized letter (not cyrillic). I have brought from home a subway may of Kyiv from Let's go but I colored the line wrong. Anyway, it is over now. and I am getting a hang of it. Hahahaha.

The food here is ok. I have not spent much on food. It is hard to detect a restaurant. Mostly I ate in cafeteria style restaurant where I can point and nod. and the price is quite cheap. But the food ...is just eatable.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 28; qc: 119; dbt: 0.0953s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb