Reunion after 10 years apart


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Odessa
July 30th 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I used to know this friend, Henry since college back home. He lives in Ukraine. Did not think much of setting up a meeting before I left home because of sporatic contact. Yet, I managed to call a friend in Hawaii who confirm her sister's phone number. Her sister lives in Dalat where my friend's extended family live in. I got a hold of my Henry's sisters who I met when I was in Vietnam visiting them 16 years ago then I got my friend's contact number in Ukraine. I could not tell which city He lives in now. The last address I had was that he lived in Odessa. Yet, the phone number I was given isn't Odessa city code. I tried to call, and the call did not go through at first then got connected, but there was no answer. So I had to leave home and decide to take my chance to call him when I am in Ukraine.
It turns out I was given a wrong number. Yet, by chance, switching the number around, I made a call, and LUCKILY, out of blue, I talked to my friend, a long lost friend. Informed him I am in the country to his astonishment, and He kindly invites to come to Odessa.
the journey of how I got to Odessa is quite interesting as well. First, I checked out the flight option. it is quite expensive. Then I chose the luxury express bus option. I went to the bus station and all tickets have been sold out for the next day which is the day I wanted to leave Kyiv for Odessa. I have one option left, TRAIN>
Then I called my friend to inform he that I might not be able to come to Odessa due to no seat's availability for the day. He said He has his friend in Kyiv got the tix for me for the day I want. The next day, Hai, Henry's friend, came to the hostel and gave me a ride to the bus station and managed to get sold-out ticket for the trip to Odessa. (No miracle here...it turns out there is another new luxury bus line to Odessa ...and I got ticket for this busline).
Arrive in Odessa, went to the toilet where it is dark and errie and you had to pay 1 Hrynia to get in, and tried to call Henry because the bus is a hour early but could not get through, so I came out of the station, then suddenly I heard a familiar voice, Henry was already here waiting for me.
arrive at his gated apartment in minutes later.
It is a great journey. Expect the unexpected.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb