The first one is in France, the second is Sweddish


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
June 29th 2014
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 46.2038, 6.13996

I have finally managed to reach Geneva. I was only 2 days and 2 hours later than I planned! All that due to the air traffic controllers being on strike. Well, I made it there with all my stuffs and a sore arm (from carrying my luggage). I was so glad to finally reach my new home.

I will be living in a shared flat on the Crêts de Champel. It's a residential area. I little far from the city centre (20min walk) but really close to work (7min walk). I share the flat with 3 other persons (Emilie, her boyfriend Cyril and Richard) and a cat. It should be fun. I can't wait to get to know them better!

The first thing to do when moving to a new place: grocery shopping! Apparently, it is way cheaper to go to France for most product. So, on my first day in Switzerland, I went back to France. Crossing a border to do my grocery shopping, that's a first! I went to Carrefour and bought mainly non-perishable food items (oil, herbs, pasta cans…😉 and household products. On the way back my bag was heavy as hell. However, I went to the Migros (local Tesco) across the street for veggies and bread.

Second thing to do: IKEA! Well, yes it's the only place where to find affordable furniture (other than second hand of course). But Emilie had her dad's car today so I could buy big stuffs and not struggle to carry them. So I got a table (that will be my desk), a wardrobe and few little things. They are already all built and functional. It was not missing much in my room. It is actually bigger than I remembered (better that way than this other and there was already a bed, some shelves and a chair. I am pretty much set.

Bring it on Geneva! I'm ready!

PS: don't expect to be able to do much on a Sunday in this city. Everything is close! Maybe you will be lucky enough to find a café and a restaurant near the lake but don't hope for more. It's so different from the 24/7 I got used to in NYC…

Me voilà arrive à Genève. J'avais juste 2 jours et 2h de retard par rapport à ce que j'avais prévu. Et cela à cause de la grève des contrôleurs aériens. Enfin, l'essentiel étant que je sois arrivée à bon port avec toutes les affaires et sacrément mal à un bras (d'avoir trimbalé ma valise). J'étais bien contente d'arriver dans mon nouvel appart.

Je vais habiter sur les Crêts de Champel. C'est un quartier résidentiel, in peu loin du centre-ville (20min à pied) mais juste à côté du boulot (7min). Je partage l'appart avec 3 autre personnes (Emilie et son copain Cyril, et Richard) et 1 chat. Il me tarde de les connaitre mieux. J'espère qu'on va bien s'entendre.

Première chose à faire quand on emménage : les courses ! Apparemment, c'est bien moins cher d'aller en France. Et donc à peine arrivée, que me revoilà en France. Passer une frontière pour aller faire les courses c'est une première ! Je suis allée à Carrefour et j'ai acheté des denrées non-périssables (pâtes, huile, condiments….) et des produits ménagers. Sur le chemin du retour mon sac pesait un âne mort. Pour les légumes, je suis allée au Migros (petit cas' local) de l'autre côté de la rue. On dirait que les produits ont l'air bon.

La deuxième chose à faire : IKEA ! C'est le seul endroit où on peut trouver des meubles à un prix abordable (sauf occasions). Emilie avait la voiture de son père, alors elle m'a accompagnée et j'ai pu acheter une table, une penderie et d'autres petites choses sans trop galérer à les transporter. Dans ma chambre (qui est plus grande que dans mon souvenir), il y avait déjà un lit, des étagères et une chaise. Du coup, maintenant que j'ai assemblé ce que j'ai acheté, me voilà équipé.

Genève me voilà ! Je suis parée !

Note personnelle : ne pas espérer faire quoi que ce soit le Dimanche. Tout est fermé. Peut-être tu peux avoir la chance de trouver un café ou un resto d'ouvert près du lac. Moi qui m'était habitué à la vie 24h/24 à New York….

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb