Massive smooches for Switzerland!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
August 6th 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Zurich's LakeZurich's LakeZurich's Lake

I actually looked at this view for quite some time as was soooo exhausted from weekend that I just had to lie down on a bench for an hour!
If I could wrap up all of Switzerland and all the people inside it and give it a big kiss (a french one at that!) I would. I had such a fabulous time in this tiny, anally organised, breathtakingly beautiful country. Couchsurfing paella party as a start (see separate entry), the week continued on in similar fashion, with each day spent with at least someone else from the party.

My trip timed perfectly with 1 August celebrations for their national holiday, which I spent quite patriotically in their capital Bern. A mini-paella reunion with about 15 of us congregating at my host Sabine's place for a BBQ, drinks and fireworks display from whoever in the neigbourhood could get their hands on them (they're still legal there!).

I even faced my fear of heights by spending an afternoon in a Rope Park, which is a magical web of tiny wooden and wire bridges suspended hight amongst the treetops. I felt like a kid again that day as five of us met up and rode our bikes to the park (the first time I had been on a bicycle for over 10 years!)...I couldn't help but giggle as the wind rushed
Party continues...Party continues...Party continues...

My host (back right) in Zurich - after a weekend of partying in Gossau I had my arm twisted to continue on at a catch up for one of his friends that had just returned from Sth America
against my face as we whizzed through the picturesque town of Bern and then up the trees we went! Wow, what an experience! Made it through most of the courses until wussing out on the last one...I was half up the ladder to the 23 metre platform (that's REALLY high!) and it just too much for me. But hey, I did well to make it that far without passing out from fright!

Every place I visited in Switzerland was stunning...the cities are clean, the air crisp and people are friendly- what more could you ask for in a country (oh except for cheaper prices!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Welcome to Bern!Welcome to Bern!
Welcome to Bern!

Sabine, my couchsurfing host, greeted me at the train station on her scooter - great fun!
Beautiful BernBeautiful Bern
Beautiful Bern

Bern is really beautiful...and check out the colour of the river - flowing straight from the alps...makes the Brisbane river look even worse doesn't it!
Travelling CraftsmanTravelling Craftsman
Travelling Craftsman

This a travelling craftsman we ran into...he is from Germany and story goes that after they finished their apprenticeship they take off for a year or few and wander around to work for free to master their craft. They dress like this so people will recognise them and offer them work!
Conquering my fear of heightsConquering my fear of heights
Conquering my fear of heights

This was the group of us after our day at the rope park...I think I am smiling so much as I knew I didn't have to climb up anymore trees!!
National Holiday = PartyNational Holiday = Party
National Holiday = Party

The mini-paella party catch up in Bern for the 1 August celebrations.
Luzern (Swiss spelling) Lucerne (English spelling)Luzern (Swiss spelling) Lucerne (English spelling)
Luzern (Swiss spelling) Lucerne (English spelling)

This place was special...crystal clear lake, soaring mountains in the distance...I completely wiled away all hours in the afternoon lounging about near the water reading my book. Life's tough eh?
Scenic train tripScenic train trip
Scenic train trip

To help me see more of the country side I took the scenic route from Luzern to Geneva - unfortunately I couldn't capture the full magnificance of the scenary so here was just one photo before my breath was taken away.
Last stop - GenevaLast stop - Geneva
Last stop - Geneva

This was my host, Mark in Geneva...our very last stop on the way to the airport was a quick climb up the local church tower for the view!


Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb