Hungarian Hangovers


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
August 11th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

No, I am not in MongoliaNo, I am not in MongoliaNo, I am not in Mongolia

But that is a Mongolian Yurt...it belongs to David, one very chilled out couchsurfing host who lives just outside of Budapest near Erd (nope, didn't think you'd have heard of it, I hadn't either)
Thankfully I was on a bit of a buzz after the fun I had in Switzerland so I could (almost) keep up with Jen and her friend, Dean, in the partying stakes when I met up with them in Budapest. This city is geered for the summer party season with large open clubs you'd expect to find on a Greek island rather than an inland Eastern European city. Needless to say, any sightseeing I managed during the day was done under much duress as I nursed my hangovers!

And to further prove my theory that its never wise to have firm plans when travelling, I found myself in Hungary for the start of Sziget music festival after I remember being so adament to Jen that I would long be in Romania by that time so it was going to be completely out of the question for me to accompany her to this festival! Glad I did make it though as much fun was had on the one day I attended although I did have to ponder the existence of a possible curse that may hover above me in regards to festivals and rain as I huddled with others for cover
There's always a castle...There's always a castle...There's always a castle...

A castle, lake, a family rowing on a boat, the ducks- all very idyllic for Hungary...
under the first awning we could find as the skies opened up five minutes after I entered the gates! I had to laugh as the weather had been picture perfect up until that point...I had even been so optimistic that I was in possession of nothing water proof!!

All was not lost though as it did clear up for the rest of the evening and I took great pleasure in drinking cheap red wine (some things never change ha ha ha) and exploring the festival with Jen, Dean and two girls who were couchsurfing with me in a Mongolian yurt just outside of Budapest who thought coming along sounded like a fine idea (which it was of course!). Also got to boogie (as only a nana can do) to Chemical Brothers for the third time this summer - yay!!

As for the rest of Budapest, I couldn't rate it very highly...it had this kind of chaotic feel to it that meant I found it hard to relax in the city and it was fairly dirty and old in a not-as-charming-as-other-Eastern-European-cities kind of way. In its defense though, I did have a wonder around the older part of town
Three Girls & A YurtThree Girls & A YurtThree Girls & A Yurt

All couchsurfing at David's yurt...Zoe (left) and Gemma (right)...just before we headed off to Sziget together.
on my way back from Sziget...the city hadn't yet woken up and there was a calmness as the first glimmers of sunlight hit the streets - my heart for the city softened a little but unfortunately not enough to ignite any great desire for me to return anytime soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Three Girls & A GuyThree Girls & A Guy
Three Girls & A Guy

The guy being Dean, Jen's friend who she met up with in Budapest...this place just wouldn't have been as fun without him!
These boots are made for walking...These boots are made for walking...
These boots are made for walking...

This is Jen showing off her very splendid gumboots that were now making an appearance for their fourth festival this summer - beautiful Jen!
A first for meA first for me
A first for me

Believe it or not, but when I borrowed Jen's thongs (flip flops for you English out there) at Sziget it was the first time I had ever worn them (I know, I am so unAustralian) & they were SOOO comfy - no wonder everyone in Brissy wears them!


20th September 2007

Having a ball...
You look like you're having so much fun over there heheh... I'm doing a maybe trip to europe next year, berlin and madrid I think...
22nd September 2007

I found it hard to relax in the city and it was fairly dirty and old in a not-as-charming-as-other-Eastern-European-cities kind of way. ... May be but its much more interesting then the others, for sure
25th September 2007

sexy thongs
I can't believe you have never worn thongs!!! do you feel like you've been missing out, will you be wearing them back in Brissie when you go home? hahaha too funny, you can't call yourself an aussie :)
28th September 2007

Apparently too harsh on Budapest
So...I have been "called" on my comments about Budapest - too harsh perhaps? Even Jen thought so...Yes, Budapest is one of the Eastern European cities that has quite a modern tram line installed (although cant say much for the metro...its almost like a trip into the twilight zone) and lots of grand palaces etc. I will admit (as I did in my blog) that any sightseeing I did WAS under duress (the hangovers hurt), which may have distorted my opinion. I don't know...I'll get back to you as am now jetting back up to Budapest for a weekend next week.
28th September 2007

Thongs...(flipflops, jandels etc)
Yep baby, am buying me a pair as soon as I am home - they are awesomely comfy! Then I will be able to call myself an Aussie :-)

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb