What a cracker of a day! Climbing Blumlisalp


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Kandersteg
September 12th 2007
Published: September 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Climbing Blumlisalp

Blumlisalp is "the mountain" of Kandersteg - I can see it from the window at work, from my bedroom window, from the belcony - it's like the Queen of the village, always in view where ever you are. The views from the top are fabulous - probably the best view of Lake Oeschinsee I've ever seen - I've now looked down on the lake from almost every angle & height possible, bar a parachute!

We were very lucky with the weather - finally managing to head up there together after putting days aside for it 4 times this summer (the weather was always bad on my days off!). The conditions were perfect - it was a still, wind-free, gorgeous Autumn day. I sprung out of bed at 4.30am (nothing like something to remind me of my rowing days) - full of energy off course - and after scoffing down some delicious hut breakfast we set out across the glacier dodging crevases with head torches.

We took a different route back - heading straight down the front via a steep scree slope with big drop-offs into the lake. Always good to have a bit of danger to keep you
Peeking out!Peeking out!Peeking out!

(could almost be considered a pun huh Bryce...a very terrible one I know...)
on your toes!

I've fallen completely in love with the mountains, much to Janine's despair, who would hate to see me getting into any proper mountaineering. It definately runs in my blood! Who knows where my life will take me, but it could be on the cards. Although I'd rather not loose any fingers to frost bite just yet!

It was a fantastic trip to share with my dad just before he heads home, and we couldn't have ordered a more beautiful day for it!

Hope you enjoy the photos as much as I do!






Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Cheers!Cheers!
Cheers!

The coolest dad out!
The last steps to BlumlisalphütteThe last steps to Blumlisalphütte
The last steps to Blumlisalphütte

Spot it in the "u" in the distance
Summit crossSummit cross
Summit cross

My cousin Jürg carried big branches up to all of the mountains around Kandersteg & tied them to the summit crosses. Only a Martig!
BlumlisalpBlumlisalp
Blumlisalp

Taken a hundred metres from my aunt & uncles house


14th September 2007

RAINBOW
ql view... something else is always something better btw. some of my first amator pics http://troubleacm.deviantart.com
15th September 2007

tht looks awsme!
20th September 2007

hey
hey those are awesome photos hope your all good

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb