The most beatiful country in the world


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
May 12th 2010
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Interlaken on Monday evening and spent yesterday hiking in the Alps. What an experience! The views are unbelievable! We wanted to take a train ride up Jungfraubahn which is the "Top of Europe", but it was cloudy at the top and we didn't want to waste a beautiful day on the 2.5 hour train ride up only to see clouds. Jungfraubahn is over 11,000 feet high. We hiked up to about 2600 feet and then took a gondola ride to 4800 feet and hiked a little more. I feel like this is somewhere I could live!

Interlaken is known for it's outdoor adventures. Everything from hiking to bungee jumping is offered. Today we are going canyoning. From what I understand, canyoning is kind of a lot of things all wrapped up in one. There is some rock climbing type activities and rapelling. We will also be going into water. Luckily, they provide us with wet suits because I've heard the water is no warmer then 40 degrees! Brrr!

The weather here is beautiful. We got really lucky because we heard they have had rain for the last 2 weeks. Today is sunny and probably about 70. Perfect! Tomorrow, I am planning on renting a bike for the day and biking through the mountains and around the town. Friday we are leaving for Munich. I can't believe our trip is almost over. I will be home in 9 days. I am looking forward to some things- like a massage (I have developed muscles in my shoulders which I didn't know existed from carrying my backpack), also excited for other conveniences like clean showers and not having to pack and unpack every few days.

Before I left for Europe, lots of people told me this would be a life changing experience. I wasn't quite sure what they meant, but the one thing I have learned is to not take things for granted and it's amazing how much I appreciate some of the smaller things-- a sunny day, a hot shower, a conversation with someone that speaks English!!

I miss you all and I'm looking forward to seeing and/or talking with you when I return. <3 kimmie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb