Beer!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
May 17th 2010
Published: May 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

If you haven't visited Munich, then you probably have no idea why I would title this blog "beer". Beer is what makes Munich go around. Most of their history is based on the production or consumption of beer. Historically, monks have been the ones to make the beer, however currently there is only 1 brewhouse that is still brewed by monks.

We arrived Friday night after an awesome time in Interlaken. We met a great group of people in Interlaken and had so much fun with them. 2 Aussies and 2 Canadians. Most of our time together was spent dancing to this fantastic French song called Alors on danse. The first time you hear it you may want to poke your eye out, but by the 7th or 8th time, you'll love it as much as we did. Download it!

Nate was pretty sick when we arrived in Munich so Saturday, I set off on a walking tour. Most of what I learned was that 90% of Munich was completely destroyed during WWII. I also learned that the architects here have made a lot of mistakes on buildings, most of which can be attributed to beer. Construction workers are allowed to drink beer on the job! There was even 1 old historic building that was repaired last year and at the ribbon cutting ceremony, the mayor asked to go up to the top and that's when they realized they had forgotten to put in a door. Hilarious!

After my walking tour I decided to visit the Hofbrauhaus, one of Munich's most famous attractions. Think 250 big picnic tables in a large room. You sit down wherever there is room and the beers come in 1 liter size. I had 2 and was feeling pretty good!! I also made more friends, 2 more Aussie guys and 4 Germans. We had a pretty fun time!

Yesterday, since Nate was feeling better we went to Dachau. This was the first concentration camp opened and the camp which all the others were modeled after. There is one word that comes to mind after seeing Dachau, and that is unbelievable. It's difficult and depressing to think of the terrible things humans are capable of doing to each other. Sadly, this is still going on today. It made me angry to realize that we have not learned from our mistakes of the past. But there were also stories of hope. Of one prisoner giving another his ration of bread because he felt the other prisoner needed it more. Or of the 21 year old woman, Sophie Scholl who was part of the group White Rose, who was executed for distributing anti-war leaflets with her brother.

It disgusts me of some of the terrible things happening today. I can't comprehend how some people can think that other human beings are inferior to them. I hope that someday we will all learn from our past and change the way we treat others.

Advertisement



17th May 2010

Munich Beer Gardens
Kimmie: Grandpa Chubby spent a day in one of those gardens! The songs were a blast! I tried to stand on our table, but I think I only got onto the seat of my chair. I still have plenty of Bavarian Hats, so don't buy any because I will give you some. In fact, I just went in put one on in order to finish typing this message! Thank you for all of the insight from your tours! Love, Grandpa Chubby

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb