SPQR


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 8th 2010
Published: May 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SPQR is all over Rome. After seeing it for a few days we decided to look it up. I thought it meant Long Live Rome. Nate thought it was a utility company. I was definitely closer. It means the Senate and People of Rome. We have seen it on statues, utility covers, fountains, everywhere!

So, Rome is awesome! The people are friendly, the food is great, the wine is cheap! I think I may be in love. On our first day here we took a walking tour of the Colosseum area and then went inside the Coloseum on a self guided tour. It was unbelievable! It's amazing that they were able to build such an amazing structure in only 10 years and it is still standing today. The whole time I was walking around I couldn't help but think of the movie Gladiator and how exciting it would have been to see a fight or show at the Colosseum.

Thursday night we went to a bar and saw a Muse cover band which was pretty good. Then I decided that our Roman experience wouldn't be complete without a trip to a club! Nate was reluctant at first but once we got there he showed off his superb dance skills. Especially one move that I like to call the Octopus. If you haven't seen it, ask him to show you! I met a few guys there that I'm fairly sure were in the Italian maffia but overall it was a fun night!

Today we went to the Vatican. I enjoyed seeing the Sistine Chapel and imagining where the Pope addresses the crowd. It turned out to be a gorgeous day so we then walked towards the Trevi fountain. We walked through some awesome Italian streets and by fountains where there were performers and merchants selling things. Lots of fun! It was exactly how I imagined Rome to be. I'm glad we went off the beaten path for a little while and experienced the true Rome.

Last night we had dinner at a fantastic Italian restaurant just around the corner from our hostel. It was so good that we are going back tonight. We were able to get a bottle of wine for only €6 which is about $9. What a deal! Early night tonight because we have a 730am flight to Venice. I am really looking forward to seeing the city and taking a Gondola ride! It's going to be tough to come home after all this!!

Advertisement



9th May 2010

your trip
Love hearing from you. Enjoy the remainder of the trip and take lots of photos. Love, GW

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb