A True Swiss!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
December 6th 2011
Published: December 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, on Saturday, I had the chance to participate in the Course de l'Escalade. It is a famous race in Geneva that celebrates Escalade. This happened December 12, 1602 when the Duc de Savoie and his cohorts tried to take Geneva by night. The citizens of Geneva would not be had. They came out to fight in their pyjamas and fought off the Savoyards. So, the race is a 7.2 km race through the old town of Geneva. It was fun. I got to run at night and the atmosphere was neat. There were a lot of people that lined the course and that were cheering for the racers. This was the first run that I had done since the death race in August, so I was hoping to arrive at the 45 minute mark. However, I beat my goal and came in at 42:13. I was happy with my time, however, I can say that I didn't place very well. I ended up in 1735 place out of 1881 runners. At least I wasn't last! This year, for all of the categories, there were over 28 000 runners.

Just yesterday I went out on a lunch date. There was
Course de l'Escalade.Course de l'Escalade.Course de l'Escalade.

This was right before my race started. The starting line was just over the wall. It rained for the entirety of my race. I love the rain.
a lady that works/volunteers with the Chancy Lien who took me out to lunch in Avusy to interview me. The Chancy Lien is the local newspaper in Chancy that comes out maybe 4 times a year. I guess some people in Chancy thought that it would be neat to interview me being here on an exchange. We had a really nice lunch. It didn't feel like I was being interviewed. It was as if we were old friends catching up with each other.

I have a couple of funny things that Isabelle said. Avery took the kids to McDonald's in Thoiry so that they could play in the play area. Isabelle then had to go to the bathroom - the stinky kind. Of course, Avery, being alone with the kids, had to take Myles into the bathroom as well. When it comes to number 2, Isabelle isn't the quickest. She takes her time on the toilet. After 10 minutes in the McDonald's bathroom, Avery asked, "Isabelle, are you done yet?" To which Isabelle replied, "I think not!" As you may be getting the picture, Isabelle is sure a little lady😉 A little while after the McDonalds incident, Isabelle says to Myles, "What's the matter buddy (LOL)? Are you running away from my fart?" Avery and I are sure teaching Isabelle well. I think that Isabelle is taking after her aunty Ingie.

Well, reports cards are done, interviews are done and next week I am going to spend a whole week at camp with my students. It should be nice to interact with my students in a different setting. I will sure miss Avery and the kids.

I just did a Skype with Denis today. He was at school so I was able to talk with some of my old colleagues. It was good to see them. I can't believe that it is already December. Where does the time go?

Jarod

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb