It's not Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
December 11th 2011
Published: December 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Myles at Espace Junior.Myles at Espace Junior.Myles at Espace Junior.

This was at the Palexpo in Geneva.
I have to say that pretty much the only thing that I am missing right now is the snow. It rained most of last week, so there is now some snow on top of the Jura Mountains, but there is still no snow in Avully or in Chancy. We can't complain though, it has been plus 7 or warmer for a long time now. Today it was sunny and 13 degrees. It doesn't really seem like winter or Christmas.

Well, I have all of my things packed and ready to go for my week with my students. We are going to the house La Grève in Versoix. I have to say that I am looking forward to my week, it will be something that I have never before experienced with my students. I have never spent time overnight with any of my classes. So, I may as well go big or go home. Let's start with one week! As I have said before, the best part of my day is coming home, so it goes without saying that I will miss Avery and the kids. However, this week will fly by and then I will be able to see Ingie as well.

Wednesday of this past week, I didn't do much work. It was nice to spend most of the day with Avery and the kids. We did some shopping for my camp and I had to buy 2 chocolate marmites for the Escalade celebration at our school. Also, on our shopping trip, we bought a Charlie Brown Christmas tree. We then threw whatever we could onto the tree. At least we have a little bit of the Christmas spirit in the apartment.

We had quite the busy weekend. It all started Friday with the school celebration of Escalade. The students dress up for this celebration. The only "costume" that I had here was my hockey equipment, so I dressed up as a hockey player. I hope that my equipment didn't stink out too many people! I was also able to participate in breaking a chocolate marmite with my students. This is a tradition where the oldest and the youngest of the class hold hands and bang the chocolate marmite until it breaks into little pieces and then we all get to each the chocolate. It was fun and I found on Youtube a techno remix of the
Reggie Lemelin.Reggie Lemelin.Reggie Lemelin.

Isabelle tried on my helmet as I was getting my costume ready for Escalade.
song, "Ah! La belle Escalade!" The students loved the song. I then came home after school and then we returned to the school as a family to participate in the cortège around Chancy. We walked around the block in Chancy and then walked to the Salle Communale where we sang 2 Escalade songs. We then got to eat Marmite soup. This was delicious. It was a soup mixed with whole bunch of vegetables that all of the students brought to school in the morning. It was neat to be a part of this celebration. The only damper on the evening was that Myles threw up into 2 soup bowls. Man, we sure know how to clear a party! Really, it was no problem. My colleagues were gracious and understanding.

Saturday, Avery and Isabelle went skating. I had to wait in the car with Myles because he was fast asleep. That was no problem as I got my fix of crib. I was able to play crib on my IPod while Myles was sleeping.

Today we went to church and then we were invited over to a friend of Denis', who lives in France in Péron. It was a
Chocolate Marmite.Chocolate Marmite.Chocolate Marmite.

The smaller chocolate marmite melted a bit because it was sitting in the sun. Oh well, the chocolate still tasted the same.
nice mix of Swiss and Swedish tradition, as the wife is Swiss and the husband is Swedish. This evening was a success because Myles held all of his food in. We met some new people and had a nice evening. I/we are trying to follow the advice of Sara, the exchange coordinator. She said that when on exchange, one should always say yes. You may never get a second invitation, so you should always say yes the first time. I must say that this has been good advice.

Jarod

Advertisement



13th December 2011

Christmas
Merry Christmas Jarod and family It is not looking much like xmas here, either, there is hardly any snow here in saskatoon. We leave dec. 19 for a week to Panama City. (Jaime is coming, as well). We went ot a very nice Candle Light Service at the Knox United Church in saskatoon 2 wks. ago. It was very meaningful and I am so glad that Rod and I went. Hope you and your family - mom and dad and Ingie have a wonderful Christmas together and wishing you all the best in the new Year. Love from Rod and Sheila

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb