It was the best of times...It was the worst of times


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Berne
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Zurich 05 21 08 234Zurich 05 21 08 234Zurich 05 21 08 234

Sunrise on the plane. My friend, Bill, said it looked like Heaven.
K Well, so much for my rule to post every other day, lol. Sorry 😊 It's just been SO hectic and amazing and exhausting. This is going to be a big post because I'm using my own computer, not the hostel's, AND it's free!!!

So, I will start in Zurich, or rather, on the plane to Zurich. I sat next to a very nice man from Switzerland, and he was telling me all about things I should do in Zurich, and how wonderful the city was. His name was Eric, and he gave me his phone number so we could get together for drinks and he could tell me more. Relax all nervous parental figures, I didn't go. I wanted to, but I didn't. I think he was just friendly, and I feel a little bad for standing him up. I hope he doesn't think poorly of Americans now, lol. Oh well. I said goodbye to Eric after he showed me where to go to report my baggage lost. Yes, that's right. My bag didn't come out of the turnstile. It wasn't a big deal, though; I knew it was going to happen. I finally got my
Zurich 05 21 08 236Zurich 05 21 08 236Zurich 05 21 08 236

My fondue dinner
luggage and got on the train to the city center, but could barely carry my bag. I mean, seriously, I could just barely walk. I should probably mention that I hadn't slept much in about 48 hrs, and hadn't eaten much in about 30 odd hrs, so I think I was a little over stretched. Then I couldn't figure out how to get to the hostel. The directions said get on tram 7, but they didn't tell me how to find the tram from the rail station.

Needless to say, I was nearly in tears. I suppose I looked a bit lost standing in the middle of the platform with my backpack that was bigger than me, lol. I had this really nice man in a suit stop and ask me if I needed any help. He was so animated, and friendly. He told me how to get to the tram, but by that point I was seriously considering taking a taxi because I didn't know how to get to the hostel from the tram stop. I saw the taxi stands and walked past them and back a few times. I was trying to figure out how to hire one as there weren't any drivers in the cars or standing next to them. I couldn't help but feel like some kind of predatory animal watching my prey trying to develop a plan of attack. I walked back to the main part of the station to the information phone, which wasn't helpful at all. A few minutes later I was lost again and two men who worked at the station came up to me, lol. They helped me too, though they didn't speak very much English. So much for Europeans being reserved, lol! Finally, I broke down and found a taxi. My driver, Mendy, was also very nice. I told him how lost I was and that I couldn't find tram 7, so the entire trip to the hostel he showed me how everything worked- trams, trains, and buses. After we got to the hostel he even stopped the meter and drove several blocks out of the way to show me how to get to the trams from the hostel. He gave me his card and said to call if I needed anything. Thankfully, I got better at navigating so I didn't need his help.

The hostel was pretty nice. The rooms were small, but not so bad. The bathrooms nearby were great, though. I had three other roomies, including this strange, middle-aged french women whom I ate dinner my first night. We had fondue at the hostel (it was so late by then I couldn't really leave to explore) and it was so so so good. The only downfall was that the only thing they brought to dip in the cheese was bread. So, it was spectacular but I was really craving some broccoli or carrots. 😊

I went for a little walk around the hostel, even though it was kind of late, because I just couldn't justify going to my room and sitting my first day in Switzerland. It was a really nice walk, but I didn't stray too far from the hostel. I'd had enough of getting lost for one day. I went to sleep around midnight, and woke up the next moring at about 6ish, not exactly the refreshing nights sleep I hoped for, but I was just too excited to sleep. I walked around for a few hours. I went to the banking center, and tried to find the main street, Bahnoffstrasse, but couldn't at first, so I just stalked a banker for a few blocks and he led me to the Fraumunster, one of the main churches, lol. I saw main street, but it was early and everything was closed, so I wandered around and walked to Lake Zurich. It was grey and foggy, but still so beautiful and peaceful. I walked along the Limmet River and over the bridge to Old Town, where the Grossmunster was. The Grossmunster is the oldest, most important Church in Zurich. It's fairly plain inside, but I think the point of the church was for worship and not opulent decoration. I went in and thanked God for everything, including getting lost at the train station.

I walked through old town and went to the Kunsthaus museum, which is the best museum ever, well, the best museum so far at least. I saw works by all sorts of people. My favorite part was the impressionism floor, where I got to see Monet's "Water Lily" paintings, and several other works by him, Picasso, Van Gogh, Manet, Renoir, and others. I also saw some Edward Munch and Max Guber (I think that's right). I
Zurich 05 21 08 265Zurich 05 21 08 265Zurich 05 21 08 265

This swan was as big as me, lol.
will try to add those pictures to this post. I just don't know how yet, lol. I'm so happy that the museum let me take my camera! I took A LOT of pictures there. After the museum I went back to Main Street and looked through the shops. I got lunch at a little stand a few streets away around 1 or so. I almost got McDonald’s but it was like 10 francs for a salad, which is about the same as 10 bucks. I spent the same for my sandwich (cheese, lettuce, tomatoes on half and something green on the other half), banana, and orange juice, but I felt better about spending my money on swiss food. *For Jasmina: the sandwich was great. The cheese was so good; I can't explain to you in words how it tasted. I've never had cheese that tasted like that. I even liked the tomatoes! I didn't make it to the green stuff because I was full, but I think it was Zucchini. And the banana, Jazz, it tasted more like a banana than any other I've ever had.*

I did a few more things, but I went home early because I was so tired. I relaxed in my room for about an hour, and then I got a new room mate (there is a high turnover for roomies). Her name is Charlotte. She is from Australia, but she is living in Germany as an Au Pair. She was really nice. We talked for like 2 hours straight, and we talked again later that night. I had my trip to Lucerne booked for the next day, but we both really wanted to see Indiana Jones so we made plans to see it after I got back.


Lucerne




So, again, I woke up at an ungodly hour but refused to actually get up until I had too. I got lost on my way to the meeting point for the tour, story of my life, but made it in time. Let me tell you, I learned many valuable things on this trip. First, don't book things like day trips, just do them on your own. The trip to Lucerne was beautiful, but horrible. I'd taken some Dramamine so I wouldn't get sick, but the bus didn't have AC and we went up winding mountain roads. I
Zurich 05 21 08 280Zurich 05 21 08 280Zurich 05 21 08 280

You can learn a lot about a city through mesage boards....if you can read them, that is.
used a map to fan myself the entire time (my sympathy to anyone going through menopause) and prayed the entire time to not throw up. It only took us an hour to get there, but an hour when your car sick is an eternity . The tour was kind of stupid too, because I was the only person going to Lucerne for the entire trip, everyone else was going to the mountains. So, after a little stop to see the lion monument (swiss memorial for soldiers fallen fighting in the French revolution) they let me out and quickly pointed on a map where I should meet them. I'll just go ahead and mention that I missed the bus on the way home. I waited for like an hour...in the wrong place. Lol, oh well. I was really, really upset though, because I knew the people on the bus must have been so mad. And I'd made plans with Charlotte, but I didn't have a way to contact her, so I knew she'd be waiting in the room for me and I wouldn't be there. Then I bought a train ticket, and it was leaving a few minutes, so I ran to the platform. Literally, the moment I was an arms length away the train rolled away. I nearly hyperventilated, I was so upset. I was so tired, and just frustrated and felt so bad for making Charlotte wait. It wasn't pleasant, but I got home and Charlotte wasn't mad at all.

But, I will back up to Lucerne. It was the most beautiful place I'd ever been. After only being there a few moments I met the nicest couple, Linda and Bill. We were on the bridge and I heard Linda say something so I could tell she was American. I asked if they wanted me to take their picture and she said yes. Then she took my picture for me. We talked and what do you know, Bill is from Scotland! I told them about moving there and they told me stories and tips. We chatted for about half an hour. I'll also point out that this was the third Bill I'd met! Apparently the world is full of sweet Mr. Bill's, lol. I walked along the canals and bridges, perused the shops, and tried to find the Picasso Museum. I looked for that museum for
Zurich 05 21 08 282Zurich 05 21 08 282Zurich 05 21 08 282

There are a lot of Boats in Zurich. Eric told me that bankers have boats to get them from the office back home in a matter of minutes.
a long time. I followed the signs and still couldn't find it, then another older couple came by with a map out talking about it. I talked with them for a while and we found it together. Apparently, the museum moved! Lol, that's why the signs were wrong. It was on the other side of town. It was a really good museum too. Camera's weren't allowed though, so just take my word for it. 😊 Then, the sweet lady at the museum desk told me to go to this church. I'd actually passed the church several times, but I didn't know if I could go in because there weren't any hours posted outside. I went back, and thank heavens I did becuase the church was truly incredible. It was mesmerizing. I lit a candle for Mr. Bill and thanked God again for being able to be there.




Back in Zurich- My last night


Charlotte and I hurried to the movie as I told her about my day and she told me about hers. We were running a few minutes late, but we figured the previews would take a while anyway. We got to the theatre, and realized we were at the wrong one, lol. Charlotte felt bad but we both laughed. We decided to look for food, because I was really hungry. We were headed towards the Lindt Chocolates building when Charlotte realized she lost her wallet! She got very scared, naturally, and we retraced our steps. I told her she probably left it on the seat at the theatre, and that maybe since there weren't many people there one of the workers found it. She was so scared, and I felt so bad for her. Luckily, someone had turned it in at the theatre, so she got it back with everything inside still there! She was SO relieved, and so was I. We went out and planned to celebrate, lol. Our first celebratory act was going to be food, but everything we passed was super expensive or closed, so our first real act of celebration was to walk up to Lindenhof ( an elevated park) and it was AMAZING. I hadn't actually been in the city center at night (it doesn't get dark here until 9:30) so I got some amazing pictures and great memories, laughing with Charlotte at our mutual silliness! We finally got to have our celebratory dinner....at McDonald’s! Lol, it was the only place that we felt comfortable spending 10 francs, because we knew what we would get. It wasn't that bad of me, because I dipped my chicken nuggets in curry instead of BBQ. So it was still an experience, even a pleasant one.


Bern


Charlotte and I had breakfast and she went with me to the train station. I'm so glad to have met her. She mad Zurich ten times more fun for me! We already planned to keep in touch, and she asked me to email her the stories I've written, lol. I feel like I knew her for more than just a few days, because we got along so well. She even bandaged my blistered foot, lol, yes, the poor girl got that close to my feet, which are kind of gross because of all the walking I've been doing. She has this huge first aid kit, because her mom is a nurse, lol. I wish I had taken a picture of it, the entire right side of the top of my left foot was bandaged. We came

up with a cover story, in case anyone looked at it funny- a gypsy knocked me down a flight of stairs where I rolled down the hill to the river bank and stood on a dagger! Lol, the dagger part was Charlotte's idea.

Anyway, the train here was nice. I relaxed, which was nice since I haven't had a full nights sleep since before I left home. I got to Bern, put my massive backpack in a locker (I'm going to have to lighten it...again) and bought my rail pass. Then, I wandered the city for a few hours, because my hostel didn't open until 3. I found where it was located so I could go get my bag after I checked in. That was a good idea, except I ended up not going to get my bag until this morning. Lol, I was going to just relax for a few hours after I got into my room and then go get my luggage, but I fell asleep. I was so tired I didn't wake up at all until like 10 pm, so then I just decided to sleep until the morning. It was the best sleep I've
Zurich 05 21 08 286Zurich 05 21 08 286Zurich 05 21 08 286

I don't know who this man is...but he face is all over Zurich, lol.
gotten since I've been in Europe.

As for Bern, I love this city! It's so pretty. It's quaint and easy to navigate. There are fountains everywhwere, and my hostel has an EXCELLENT location. I'm going to tak my video camera out tomorrow and show how amazing the location is. Lol.

I'm going to go now, becuase I've spent nearly 2 and 1/2 hours downloading pics from my camera and writing. this. Sorry, it's so long and so late. I love you all!


Auf Wiedersehen


-Heather



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



25th May 2008

Yeah
Wow! What an experience. I was so glad to hear from you. You are soooo brave girl. I would have freaked out having gotten lost, missing trains, etc. Thank you, thank you, thank you for not meeting that man for drinks. Keep listening to that little voice (me!) and remain cautious. Waiting for the next update, Love you, Trish
28th May 2008

Miss Lesley misses you!
I am so psyched for you! I'm too chicken to do the whole backpack and hostel thing, so I'll sit here in my airconditioned office and high heels and look at pics. I am so proud of you, and worried (but that's my own issue). I am glad you are making friends. Not surprised. Be smart. Mr. Craig woke up this morning, and went right to the refrigerator (where we have your itinerary) and excitedly announced to the family "Heather is in Rome!" Thank you for the beautiful pics already, be sure to take one with the Pontiff if you bump into him. Love you a lot! Miss Lesely

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb