Greetings From Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gutentag! I am in Munich right now, which wasn't planned but I am loving it nonetheless. Granted, I'm stuck in an airport for 5 hours but there is a food place nearby serving authentic German food and a little gift shop that I can use to kill some time.

My first plane was delayed leaving New Orleans by nearly 3 hours so I missed my connection to Zurich, which brings me here.

The plane rides were great. I sat next to some extremely interesting people. While waiting for my first flight to work out the delay I talked with this older man named Bill. He has family in Prague and he was telling me things I should do when I am in Italy. We talked about his family and college, and we talked a lot about the political atmosphere in the US. He told me why he was going to vote for John McCain and I found it very imformative. 😊 He bought me a bottle of coke, and would have bought me a hot dog but I wasn't hungry. It was like talking to an uncle or a grandpa.

Then on the flight I sat next to a kid a little older than me. I wasn't too thrilled with the seating arrangment because he looked like he needed a shower, but after we both napped and woke up we talked and he was really cool. He lives in NYC and just graduated from a music school where he majored in the Bassoon (sp?). He was in New Orleans for an audition.

Then on my flight to Munich I wasn't sitting next to anyone. There were two seats in my row, an aisle and a window seat, and I got to use them both because the flight wasn't full. The man, also named Bill, had some stuff in the compartment above my seat and as he went to open it a bag (my bag) flew out and almost whacked me in the head. We both laughed and he apologized, and went to pull out his bag again, and this time a pen flew down into my lap. We laughed a little harder and he said he was sorry again. He tried to be more careful the third time, but his jacket flew out and I had to catch it so it didn't hit the ground. After that we had to talk to each other. He was older too, probably mid 40's, very clean cut and extremely polite. So, imagine my suprise when I found out that he was flying to Munich to play a concert with his rock band! He was in a band in the 70's called Pavlov's Dog's or something like that. It was so funny. He told me to come to the show if I was going to be in Munich long. I actually kind of do want to go, but I can't because the airline will hold my luggage hostage...and I think it may be illegal to just run off in a country that was never intended to be your destination. I'm thinking about trying to catch another show. He told me they have a website, but I wouldn't want to go if I couldn't convince someone to go with me, just for safety, though I think Bill was a good person. He looked quite different compared to the other guys in his band. I wanted to tell his band mates that the 70's were over and hair cuts and baths were in so they might as well start cleaning up. 😊 They weren't nearly as nice as he was, which is the only reason I mock them.

Alas, so far what I've learned about Munich is that it is extremely green, and I mean that strictly as is pertains to actual color and not eco-friendly practices, though it may be green in that sense too. And, I already looked stupid once. I couldn't turn on the sink in the bathroom (turns out I had it right the first time but my sink was broken) and this really nice girl who didn't speak a work of English had to play charades with me so I could wash my hands! 😊

I'd better go now, my computer battery is nearly dead. I will try to update again once I get settled in Zurich, but remember I'm 6 hours ahead. Don't worry too much if I don't update until tomorrow.

Auf Wiedersehen

-Heather

Advertisement



21st May 2008

lol
so did the flight have two floors like you feared??? lol. i'm glad you got there with no more problems, and i miss you lots already!! POSTCARDS!!@#@$#!!!! LOL. and i have a feeling you will be the charade queen by the time you come home. i love you k
22nd May 2008

Heyyyyyyy! We miss you already! I was awake during the night -- thinking about you, praying things would go smoothly with your fligts ... This is so exciting! Can't wait to hear about your days. Love you, Trish
25th May 2008

i'm playing catch up when I should be doing biochem ;)
HEY HEATHER! well I went on fb and saw a link to your page and was intrigued. I should be studying biochem but who wants to do that when I can read your entry and escape my world and step in yours (for a sec.) Your entry seemed like an adventure already =) p.s. THats so kool about meeting a guy from a band, he must be an add on b/c wiki told me they were formed in the 70's lol. Take care!
26th May 2008

Fun ventures
Nothing ventured, nothing gained. NO, NOT YOU! Sounds like you are getting your Master's in the World Knowledge College. I'm glad I got to talk to you for a while today! Maybe it will settle my subconscious worries. Love, DM

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb