Weekends of Fun


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
May 16th 2007
Published: May 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I went on two trips recently, one to Kullaberg, Sweden and one to Bornholm- an island off the coast of Sweden, but it is Danish territory. Both were picturesque and both were planned school trips where we really didn’t get to interact with the people. So, I gained something else from the experience than culture.
In Kullaberg, I went canoeing with a girl I talked to a lot but had not had deep conversations with prior and didn’t really know that many other people on the trip. I enjoyed talking to the one girl for awhile but enjoyed meeting new people even more. It was not until we got into a huge bike group that the trip came alive. It was so interesting to hear different perspectives on where we should go, and I even enjoyed the collective decisions on how long we should spend at a given place (because normally I would be bossy and choose myself). It really surprised me. And for once, I was not the one trying to navigate the course we should follow. And while those friends that I met won’t last…mostly because I can’t remember their names… it’s nice to know that I enjoy changing up the group I am with and interacting in a different way that I thought possible.
In Bornholm, all my close friends and classmates were present in the group we biked with. It was a definite change from Sweden, more hills to bike and further to go. But I got a taste of how the Danes are. They have groups of about 8-10 friends that they spend a lot of time with. My closest friends were only three, so the larger number was actually a lot more enjoyable. I got to know each of them over the course of biking, and has a blast with the bigger group. It really influenced the subsequent dinner parties we had. All of my friends and I had so more people present and the dynamic was so much more interesting. Everyone was friends with everyone and so many great dialogues were going on. I finally understood what the Danish term “hyggeligt” or cozy, really meant.
I am pretty excited about bring dinner parties to my apartment at Wofford along with candles and more than just my closest friends. I want to get to know others more and mix up who I hang out with. The Danes really know how to do some things right.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb