Near Disaster in Sweden


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
May 31st 2016
Published: June 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today was going to be a long travel day as we made our way back home to Los Angeles. We had an early but short morning flight from Helsinki to Stockholm where we then had about a 7 hour layover. Upon arrival in Stockholm, I quickly realized that I had left my passport on the plane. After quickly making my way back to the terminal and realizing that there was no way they would let me back on the plane, I had to quickly figure out what to do next. I just needed to ensure that somebody retrieved the passport before the plan took off for it's next destination. For the next hour, I was given the run-around until finally I was able to get somebody who informed me that a passport was in their possession. However, they would not tell me if it belonged to me. We all had to wait about 3 hours at the airport until I was finally able to retrieve it. The entire time all I could think of was being stuck in Stockholm for the next few days as I awaited a new passport. However, disaster was averted and I was able to retrieve my passport. A good lesson learned. Never leave your passport in the seat pocket. Especially on a short flight!

With passport in hand, we still had a few hours to kill. Before this incident, we had planned on spending the morning in the university town of Uppsala. We decided to still go but we wouldn't have much time other than to have a quick look around. It was a quick 20 minute train ride to the main train station in Uppsala and we were greeted with temperatures in the 70s. A far cry from the weather we had just a few days ago in Stockholm. From the train station, we made our way over to the Uppsala Cathedral for a quick look before making our way back down to the Uppsala city center. We just walked around looking for anywhere to have a quick lunch but we weren't able to find anything. So we simply settled for McDonald's before heading back to the train station to head back to the airport. It was a quick one hour visit to Uppsala but we had to catch our our 2pm flight back home to Los Angeles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.336s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb