Stockholm - A small World!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
June 16th 2015
Published: June 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I got on the bus at the Airport to get into Stockholm and was truely amazed by the lack of people. There was me and this one guy from Australia on there. We both questioned where is everybody? From my own stay here, I think I know why...its not because its not a fantastic place to visit, its just expensive although cheaper than Norway apparently! From the moment I stepped off the bus at Central Station Stockholm, I was in awe because at every angle there was something that deserved to be photographed. My accommodation has been pretty special staying just moments away from the very impressive City Hall (building with 3 crowns on top, see pics). It has been an amazing place to visit and I would love to return, but only after winning the lottery, to really experience whats on offer. Food and Drink are very expensive, so as far as indulging my foodie passion with 3 course meals, I have had to put that on hold for the moment, although luckily I can afford to cut back for a few days! 😉 I did however manage to stretch to two occasions where one did treat once self. After all I am on holidays, all be it a rather long one. Sat in one of the many restaurants in the Old Town - Gamla Stan I had a traditional plate of Herring served 3 ways with some boiled potatoes and cheese with a single glass of mulled wine for my evening meal at a cost of £23 Ouch! On the other occasion I had Salmon with an ice cold Rose Cider, sat in the Harbour area on the island of Grinda looking out to sea whilst crisping up, for the even better price of £21. The tip here, if you come, it is better to eat at lunchtime than in the evening although the same dishes are served. Beware its the booze that hikes up the Bill!!

The really good news is that the views were free and they were, plentiful. They even have decorated shopping streets! Over the past 3 days I've managed to squeeze in The Stockholm City Walking Tour; this was similar to the tour I undertook in Amsterdam but with a different company. The guide was really knowledgeable, animated and funny. This tour covered some History, some of Swedens biggest exports. H&M are one, don't you know? and the best bit he showed us was the location where the term "Stockholm Syndrome" originated from. Look up the story, its bizarre and hysterical!

I did alot of walking about here, mainly in circles as my map reading skills I'm afraid to say have not improved any, but I did manage to find some locations in Stockholm where you can view whole skylines of some of the Islands. As with any decent view a climb was involved, be it up hill or a million steps, but it was worth it. Just check out the photos. You really see Stockholm is a wonderfully colourful place.

The Old Town - Gamla Stan was pretty cool with its narrow alley ways, cobbled streets and little squares, although again very easy to get lost in. Its like a labrinth and although I dont want to sound ungrateful after been given a free tourist map, it doesnt help when all the street names are not on there and you have no sense of direction. 😊 I did manage though to stumble across the vast Royal Palace in Gamla Stan and witness the daily changing of the Guards. I'm by no means a Royalist but who can resist a man in a uniform holding a large weapon.

The weather has been amazing whilst I've been here apart from one shower the first day I arrived in the evening, where I got soaked. How that could happen when I have travelled with 2 raincoats, a pocho and an umbrella, beats me!!!! Anyway to make the most of the glorious sunshine and to take a step out of the city for a little while I decided to take a boat trip out to the Swedish Central Archipeligo to a small island called Grinda known as a summer paradise of yesterday and today which houses a tiny Harbour, Hotel, Chalet and Camping Accommodation, Cafe, Farm, and Nature Trail. It was simply stunning and I would encourage anyone who visits Stockholm to take a boat ride out to one of the many Islands that make up this Archipeligo. The boat ride out was beautiful and I'm not convinced my pics do it justice but the time spent on the Island was truely special. I did the Nature Trail and it was magical walking through forest with the sun streaming through the trees. Now unbelieveably, when I was waiting for the boat back to Stockholm, this is why I chose the title for this blog; Stockholm - Its a small world, because who should I bump into but the Australian guy that was on my bus when coming into the city. There are 30,000 Islands in the Archipeligo, granted you cant get a boat to all of them from Stockholm but theres a fair list to choose from which made it feel quite surreal that I'm actually waving to someone I know whilst on a small Swedish Island. You couldn't make this up. As I finish my time here in Stockholm I am currently making use of the Laundrette facilities so that I am all good to go for my next destination; Vienna.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



16th June 2015

Amazing
The photos are again stunning but not sure about the herring.... Cooked 3 ways? How many ways can you cook herring? ?? The price on booze would make me cry too ?Can't believe this is already your 3rd city. Glad you are ending your time in Stockholm on a high - Laundry..... Do they 'Dry like a dream'? ? Bx

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb