Ahhhhhhh Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
June 19th 2015
Published: June 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhhh Vienna, the title of this blog for ar least 3 reasons. Ahhhhh because of the beautiful cityscape it has offered with its wonderful array of architecture. Ahhhhh because I finally managed to indulge myself on really fantastic cuisine all be it mainly Italian. Yes I know I'm in Austria but this is a country who just loves the gluten so nothing traditional for me to eat here, I'm afraid. The final Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh is for my behind after taking in a 3 hour cycle tour of the city. Although fantastic to see the many sights from the perspective of 2 wheels. I definitely prefer the 4 kind variety or my own two legs!!! 😊

This time I was staying in a hotel very close to the centre of Vienna and all the attractions, the Hotel Graf Stadion. A lovely place to stay and I fully recommend it. The staff have been so helpful and having breakfast laid on in the morning has been great. However it did mean I needed to do some research when I arrived. It is amazing how, anyone managed to travel previously without the Internet. From browsing, I stumbled across a blog which mentioned an Italian restaurant that caters for Gluten Free. It's name Scaraboccio. Even better it was just around the corner from where I was staying and as always I was starving. 30 minutes later I'm stuffing seafood pizza, glugging Austrian GF Beer and gearing up for dessert. Let's just say, I left there 1/2 stone heavier than when I went in. Just in the right frame of mind for a good sleep before taking to the streets for a wander the following day.

With all the main sites in Vienna in very close proximity there is no walking tour available but I did find a self guided walk for me to follow. Let's face it, I needed to practice my map reading skills. This walk was estimated to take 2.5 hrs. 6 hours later with a walk through a Gay Pride festival, 3 churches visited including my very own and a street named after me, a butterfly house, a few detours along the way and what can only be described as the most surreal exhibition I have ever been to, was one where the sound of "The Last Post" was played by 100 year old instruments. Check the photo out. It's the empty room with 2 speakers. I finally made it back in one piece. Fantastic day out and I loved every minute. The walk itself, although took you to the main attractions, did so using pedestrianised streets and parks mainly, which were really lovely and given the time of year, all in bloom. That evening I took to the streets once again in search of some authentic Austrian delicacies but I was fighting a losing battle. The penny finally dropped when the owner of a lovely looking restaurant went all the way through the menu and there wasn't one item I could eat. There was only one thing left to do, starve or head back to my Italian. Just in case you were wondering and knowing I needed to keep my energy levels up for the impending bike tour, I went with option 2. Italian it was - Four Cheese Gnocchi followed by Tiramasu and a glass of Merlot! Divine! 😊.

On my last day, my bike tour wasn't until the afternoon so I stepped out early and made my way to Prater Park. The Weiner Prater was declared to be free for public enjoyment since 1766. In 1895 a Giant Ferris wheel was erected and thereafter it grew to become an amusement park. It's like having Oakwood Park in a field which you are free to roam around. You just pay for the rides. For those of you who know me well, you know I am rubbish at fairground rides apart from the odd gamble on the 2p machines. Dissapointingly there was no equivalent here, so I did muster up the courage and have a go on the Ferris Wheel. I thought it's practically new, why not? 😉. I got some fantastic views of the city and I hope you enjoy the pics. Well onto that wonderful bike tour. Can you believe it, I ended up at the meeting place with minutes to spare after having misread the map AGAIN and getting lost. The tour itself was great and I met some really lovely people, it was mostly flat terrain and I managed to master the gears early on! On the way back I felt my stomach rumble but I really didn't want to eat at the Italian place again, even though it had been fantastic previously and sorted me out good and proper for 2 nights on the trot. No instead, I stumbled upon this restaurant on my way back to my hotel and end up with a high end 3 course meal with matching wine and where the water is served from a Moet and Chandon Champagne bottle dressed in my walking gear!!! Granted they are the most expensive clothes I own. It was very surreal being with all the posh Austrians sat there in my walking boots!!? Although after the second glass of wine I relaxed into it. It very much reminded me of our meal in Bullys in Cardiff except this time I wasn't dressed for the occasion and I'm sat there like some hobo! Anyway an early night is required with the reality of PT (Public Transport) looming to take me to my next destination Bratislava!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



20th June 2015

??Ahhhhhhh Vienna!??
Loving every moment of this tour with you Anna!
20th June 2015

Ahhhhh Vienna
Glad you enjoyed it.
21st June 2015

Lovely Vienna
You should be getting paid for this travel blog! Definitely selling these countries ? It looks absolutely fantastic! So glad you've had better food and cheaper booze here ? Can't wait for the next instalment. Bx

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb