Copenhagen - What a fantastic place to visit!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
June 13th 2015
Published: June 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As I sit, looking at the lake in front of me whilst drinking a bottle of beer sat on a park bench just doing what the locals do, I know I am definitely not in the UK as no-one has thrown me a look of disgust. Copenhagen has been a wonderful place to visit filled with charm and surprise. I arrived on Thursday where it was slightly overcast and given I was jet lagged, what with the 55 minute flight and no change to the time zone I decided to take it easy. My hosts have been particularly helpful in aiding my true Copenhagen experience. Within hours of arrival I found myself in the Norrebro district visiting Assistens Cemetery. Although this sounds quite macarbe, it was a really beautiful place and doubles as a park where locals make the most of the very limited green space. This is a topic that has continued to present itself throughout my visit here. Given I didn't really enter the main tourist zone on my first day, and just wandered close to where I was staying, I felt very undecided about Copenhagen and started to question should this destination have been included in my trip. The saying "What a difference a day makes", is all it took for me to fall in love with this place.

Friday was my main exploring day and to make the most of it, I was advised to get up early and witness rush hour. It was so funny...it wasnt cars it was bikes and they were in the hundreds. They just kept coming, they were even overtaking!!! After watching the morning traffic I needed a different perspective and wanted to take in views on high from the steeple of 'Our Saviours Church'. This was incredible. Once you climed to the top there was then a further external spiral staircase. So cool! I could see right across to Sweden and the full expanse of Copenhagen's rooftops. My next port of call was to Freetown Christianshavn which was truly odd. This is almost like a hippy colony right in the middle of Copenhagen. No tax is paid and they have set up their own schools and social system. It even says on exit, 'You are now entering the E.U.' Within this, they have what's known as the 'Green District' where Ganja is sold, although still illegal in Copenhagen. Sellers cover their faces and the product is all behind army camouflage nets and no photos are to be taken! It's very bizarre but I felt perfectly safe walking around and taking in the sites. I did leave with a headache mind and no purchase made! I then took in a scenic route around some lakes where old ramparts could just be made out. What followed was a really good but extremely cheap way of seeing Copenhagen from the water. I took the public boat and stayed on until it had completed a circuit, which took about an hour for the cost of £2.50. I got talking to a local man who was pointing about the places of interest to me. It beat the £20 tourist cruise on offer! When I finally got off the boat after enjoying the sites and crisping up at the same time as the weather was superb, I took a stroll down the harbour. This is where all the coloured houses are, synonymous with Copenhagen. I stopped for some food which was lovely but very expensive!!! I would definitely encourage everyone to come to Copenhagen but be warned it can work out extortionate if you are not savvy about it. Also it's a nightmare if you need gluten free. I feel like a supermarket whore here, given the number I have frequented for something to eat. Can you believe it, 7/11 and Netto are now officially my hero's!! After a nice lunch I still needed to visit the Little Mermaid. When in Rome and all that. Well I can tell you this. It wasn't worth the extra long walk and especially when she needed crowd control from all the Chinese and American tourists!!! I managed a quick photo and cut them out, so mission accomplished. 😊 I finished the day strolling along the streets to Sortedams Lake which was wonderful in the warm evening sun. I even managed to make a friend in the park who was great because he didnt answer back!

My last day has consisted of me wandering through the pedestrianised tourist centre, people watching and absorbing Copenhagen. One thing which I thought was great, was I could go to a viewing platform and have a nose at a construction job in progress within the centre to add another Metro stop. This wasn't because there was something at height near by and you could take a peek at it. They were actively encouraging the residents of Copenhagen to view the job. If only this happened at home. I also visited the Copenhagen Museum which has a whole section on a project they are working on which looks at improving green areas in the city and it's environmental impact. They have the schools involved and the whole top floor of the museum is full of lego to encourage the young to build their ideas. It appears to be a sound way to educate and develop future plan. One thing I would mention that I have been particuarly fortunate with is the weather given it rains 113 days a year in Copenhagen. Despite this, I would definitely like to come back again but for now my time draws to a close and it's onto Stockholm next.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



13th June 2015

Sold!
What a wonderful city Copenhagen sounds like!! You've sold it to me so will have to start saving for a little city break :) Although I may need to prepare Chris as we know how he feels about cyclists xxx
14th June 2015

2nd City - Done!
Well I can't get the vision of you sitting in a park boozing! How uncouth ? Looks like an amazing city and the photos are wonderful. Cant wait to see what Stockholm is like - Yah?! Bx

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb