5 Days in Stockhokm with a "Design Theme"


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
October 4th 2011
Published: October 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yes , here I am again and on a short trip to Stockholm ostensibly to see Richard and Catherine and their new apartment. It occurs to me today (my last day) that this has been a visit with a design theme – “ancient and modern”.
The “ancient” was special exhibition of “Inca Gold” held in one of the many museums here. ( Sorry no photos – not allowed). This museum in rock tunnels on Skepsholmen ( one of Stockholm’s city centre islands)- which were carved out in the 1940s for naval defences during WW2. Well I suppose having this amazing display of Inca Gold artefacts in this museum would also mean it would be very secure. And so I wandered amongst such beautifully designed and crafted adornments – helmets, masks, breast plates, earrings, nose plates and at the same time learned quite a lot about South American history and the devastation of the population when the Spanish Invaders arrived. As always I am amazed at the skill of the craftsmen who made these things so long ago and how human beings have always wanted to adorn themselves for religious, cultural reasons or to infer their status. Of course lots of the Inca civilisation riches and power was built on forced labour and mobilisation of populations who were also made to speak one language. So that was a surprise for me to come to Sweden and be able to see Inca Gold – I will save a visit to the Wasa ( 16th century Swedish warship) till the next time. As you can see from the photos it is a beautiful day here in Stockholm and as walking round the harbours taking in the city views is a delight.

And now to design “modern”….of course the new apartment is lovely, spacious and light- and being on the corner they have 3 lots of windows in the living room. You have to hand it to the Swedes they are so good at design…the kitchen which comes off the living room, although small, has 17 cupboards one of them being a tall larder cupboard. There are fitted wardrobes in the hall and the bedroom. The bathroom is spacious and functional with a washer and dryer also…and a heated tiled floor- which will be great in winter time. The balcony is a very good size and they could have a table and chairs and other seating there easily. There is still some building work going on in front of their blocks of apartments – but what they seem to have done is completely finished one set of apts landscaping and all before they start on the next set. (Lesley- you will remember that from our stay in an apt in Nykoping.) I have been out looking at furniture with R+C as they decide what to get. Some fabulous furniture stores here – some innovative designs-and I like everything!! Black and white is a popular theme and I think they are going for a white dining table with black chairs…. Maybe I won’t throw out my black bookcases now- they seem to be back in fashion. We got a very nice rug grey black and dark blue and a sumptuous think pile – Alice (their dog) has commandeered the rug – it’s obviously so comfy to lie on.
Then there was a visit to a garden centre – the nicest one I have ever been to. Everything was set out like it was in a country garden and an autumn fair was in progress – hot mulled apple cider, beautiful plants, inspirational plant displays , lovely garden furniture…etc etc. And so Catherine chose some nice big planters for their balcony and we got heathers, white cyclamen and a deep purple chrysanthemum, also white tulips for the spring. Back home to do some planting and now the balcony is looking really good.

And always I am lucky there is often the unexpected on my travels- and this time it was a surprise visit to the TV studios to see True Talent – which is Sweden’s X-Factor… Catherine works for one of the TV Companies so we had special seats right in the front row. Very interesting to see what goes on – on set behind the scenes when the adverts are on!!! It was great fun and I liked the music – so I will have to wait a few more weeks till the Finals for them to tell me who the eventual winner will be. Thank you , Catherine , for that surprise.
So it’s back home tomorrow – and yes I have got my next trip planned – got that sorted out yesterday – I am going to Ireland, for a few days, in a fortnight. Oz friends Susan and Geoff who I swapped homes with last year are in Ireland and kindly invited me to visit them there- so a having found a return flight for £12 – I had to say yes. I have never been to Ireland so that’s a first coming up for me. It’s to Derry – which I had to look up on the map – in North West – Co. Donegal – I think.
Well that’s the news from me for now. It would be nice to know how you all are doing – send me a message – I love to hear from you.
Lynne xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



4th October 2011

Sweden
Looks as if you had a great time, you are quite the traveller Mrs Brown! We are off on Sunday, going to be leaving some lovely hot weather in Ontario to brave the cold and wet of B.C. Will try to get you on Skype when we get back. hugs Bev.
5th October 2011

Sweden always looks so CLEAN!!! On my list if places to return to, Lynne. Enjoy Ireland. I flew to Derry during the Troubles, wonder hoe much it\'s changed? The Donegal countryside & coast are stunningly beautiful. We saw a card in a shop window : \" Mountain for sale\". Lots of love as always Pauline (France)
7th October 2011

Hello from Australia
Hi Lynne Well there's no slowing you down! Great to hear from you. All going well here. Maureen has just had her second foot operation and has cabin fever so we are all going out for a girl's (plus Vince) luncheon today. It has been a long winter so I am very much looking forward to Summer.I have been spending a good deal of time in the garden and have made a covered vegetable garden and have many seedlings ready for planting out. I went to Vietnam, Canbodia and Loas a couple of months ago with Maureen's freind from Sydney, Marg. It was good to see but once is enough. I found many things e.g. the war museum, affects of agent orange on the young population and the killing fields very distressing. Also there was a great deal of pollution which appears typical of most of Asia now. Stay well and happy Love Susan xxx

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb