Across the sea to Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal
October 24th 2011
Published: November 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello folks another update as I have been travelling again.
If you remember last year this time I was in Australia - and swapped my house with the lovely Susan and Geoff in Port Maquarie, NSW - well here I am in Ireland with them as they have swapped with an Irish family who are now in Port - hope thats not too confusing - and while I am here another family from California are staying in my house!!! The world is your oyster with home exchange.
This is my first time in Ireland so I am very happy to have the opportunity to stay here and meet up again with S+G in Muff, Co.Donegal just over the border with Derry. And to top it all I managed to get £6 flights with Ryanair -hard to beat that.
Susan said bring your rain jacket and boots - and yes I havent had them off apart from when inside the house - I didnt expect sunshine - and rain, cloudy grey skies was mostly what we got . But being hardy souls we don't let that stop us exploring and having picnics!!!
Geoff is a great organiser and so I knew I could leave it to him to plans our days out - and thats nice for me as normally I have to do it myself. We made a good team - getting the flasks out for the coffe /tea, making the picnics each day, putting the gear in the car.
It's amazing what you can see anddo in 5 days - starting with a hare dashing about madly ( I suppose thats what they do) in the back garden. The house had amzing views across fields to the Lough Foyle and beyond to the mountains and one morning luckily there was a beautiful sunrise.
What a fabulous coastline we saw , and driving country roads we came across windswept pristine beaches, moorland and mountains and valleys , lakes and forests - and lots of ruined castles and towers dotted about.
And what a treat to go to the Giant's Causeway - geology heaven - I loved it - much more spectacular than I thought and it is well organised with a walk or shuttle bus from the visitor centre - then you can scramble about on the rocks and walk a trail around the bay to the next headland. I LOVED IT!
We went to see th Famine Village - a great little museum run by a family ( who actually lived in one of the houses into the 80s.)- very down to earth - and lots of info by the guide about Irish history, way of life and The Troubles... and only a few euros entry in with a cup of tea and cake thown in. We met lovely people like a gardener at the church at St Aidans Well and the lady in the Famine Village who told us to go down a lane to the coast to see a spectacular blowhole- "don't take any notice of the Private Land sign- just drive through the farm yard!!" she said. And the nice guy in the fish shop at the harbour at Green Castle who had no change for a 20euro note and said to Susan pay me next time!!!
Another day through the mountain valleys to Glenreagh National Park and to visit the castle - and what an informative guide who told us about links to Australia - when the rich man came and took the land and evicted 240 (?) families and some of them went to Oz on the ship the Abbysinian - he showed us some copies of original documents they had. SOOOO interesting....and what a beuatiful setting -the castle even had a swimming pool by the side of the Lough - however we were not tempted even when the sun did come out.
And what esle ??? - there was the wildlife display - a seal we watched catching a fish and eating it and chasing off the gulls.... the visit to the Whisky Distillery - and I did try it and still think it tastes like medicine... and the ancient hlltop fort - a fabulous stone circular structure in a perfect position overlooking Lough Foyle and Lough Swilley ( I think that was the names) .
On my last day Susan and I left Geoff behind to watch the footie and took a guided tour of the Walls of Derry with a guide. Again it was interesting to hear about the Irish history of the city and to see the places where there was much conflict in the past 40 years- the places always popping up on the news -we saw the murals in the Bogside, the place where Bloody Sunday occurred. Thankfully apart from a few fanatics there is now a peaceful settlement and leaders like Martin McGinness and Ian Paisley now sit together with a common purpose to bring peace and prosperity to N.Ireland...and Derry is to be European City of Culture in 2013 which will be a big boost for everyone there I am sure.
Yes I will defo be back to visit Ireland again
And so it was goodbye to the Emerald Isle - my £6 flight back to Stansted pick up the car and drive North to Newcastle - so lookout for the next blog in the North.
Love to all. xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

The Bay at CausewayThe Bay at Causeway
The Bay at Causeway

Yes everything is very grey!
HarbourHarbour
Harbour

This is where we saw a seal catching and eatcing fish.


4th November 2011

Wow Lynne you do get around. It sounds magical and the sunset.wow! Rub it in about your £6 pound flight, did you get a seat for that or were you tied to the wings, knowing you you'd give it a go. Much love Janice

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb