A whirlwind tour of Skåne


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Skåne County » Lund
June 2nd 2007
Published: June 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

medieval houses?medieval houses?medieval houses?

They look a little nice to be from medieval times, but this is the classic streets of Lund that people come down to stroll.
This will have to be quick and short with no photos -- I'm on a computer at the train station... So where did I leave off... on Fri night we took a night train to Malmo. It was actually pretty decent! Cheap and even came with a free bottle of water. Fortunately I showered at the hostel before leaving Fri night because there was no shower onboard. We were in a little tiny room with 2 bunkbeds with 3 bunks each. Like navy ships but a little more cushy. It was quite comfortable! And cozy. I'll post pics when I can. Got to Malmo Sat morning at 7, pretty well-rested. We ventured out and, after reading some books, decided we'd be better off seeing Lund today and taking an overnight "ferry" to Oslo for travel/lodging.

A 15 min train ride to Lund and we were off seeing the 2nd oldest city in Sweden. It was nice! It's known for having a lot of medieval buildings. And it was actually the Medieval fair that day! Free admittance to one of the best museums in Sweden (according to our guidebook) and a little fair with tons of stuff. Cute! We walked
Night trainNight trainNight train

The cabin was actually pretty cozy! stacking beds 3 bunks high isn\'t bad if you have high ceilings. A bit of a climb but a nice view from the top. haha We had extra storage space up there too. What a great night\'s sleep!
through the little cobblestone-streets, visited an old-fashioned country store (where I bought WAY too much swedish candy! YUM!), I bought my cloudberry jam which supposedly you can only get here, and some lingonberry jam so I don't have to go to ikea to get it (it's really good!). We went into the big church that's the center of town and saw the famous clock strike noon (where there's a little show when it strikes! Pretty cool! We have a video that I'll try to post when I can). A little more wandering around the cool town, and a stopover into the sex exhibit in the museum -- DANG. That was weird. Don't worry, I have plenty of pics of that too but I don't know if I can post them on here... haha We got a yummy sandwich to go and hopped back on the train at 2 to get to Copenhagen by 3.

What we found out AFTER booking the boat is that Sat night was the BIG Denmark v Sweden soccer game. It was HUGE!!! Tons of people running around in yellow shirts (sweden) or red (denmark). Looked like a blast! Would have been a decent party...
Almost the DC metro...Almost the DC metro...Almost the DC metro...

The trains here are all awesome! This one was from Malmö to Lund.
Instead, we walked the scenic mile to the cruise ship and off we went! (meanwhile, I should write to Samsonite and tell them how good their wheels are!!!). The overnight ferry was actually a well-known british cruise company called DFDS. It was a nice boat! My first cruise (as a grown up). The dinner was just so-so, and we passed out early, but it was still a nice trip.

Now I'm sitting in the Oslo train station while we try to get accommadations for tomorrow night in Bergen and the next 2 nights back in Oslo. It's been nice making our plans on the fly, but sometimes the lodging gets tricky... Today we're off to see Oslo, then a night train tonight to Bergen. Hopefully I can write tonight and at least update in words how today went, if not with pictures...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

What kind of museum is this??What kind of museum is this??
What kind of museum is this??

So my camera died right about here and I forgot to bring along my spare battery for the day. I got a pic of this poster for an interesting exhibit at the museum in Lund. Don't worry, we visited and I took pics on Justin's camera (he was thrilled) but I don't know when/if I'll be able to post them. very interesting (read that with Dr. Ruth's accent and you have it about right...)
Football is a religionFootball is a religion
Football is a religion

I still don't know who won the Denmark v Sweden game (I suppose I should look it up if I cared enough). I was waiting for a fight to break out as a bunch of Swedes chanting Sverige (Sweden) walked by this group of hardcore Danes.
The cruiseThe cruise
The cruise

This was our room. We were so far at the bottom we were even below the cars. I think the ocean was right under my feet... We were pondering why they don't put windows down there, then I realized that even I would be freaked out by that. An ok room for 2 people but would have been pretty tight for the 4 it was intended for! (but much cheaper...)
CopenhagenCopenhagen
Copenhagen

That's about how much Copenhagen I saw on this trip. Decent view from the top of the ship and a really good zoom...
View from the boat deckView from the boat deck
View from the boat deck

I think I did a puzzle that looked like this (minus the glare)
WindmillsWindmills
Windmills

or whatever they are.... they love their clean energy here.


3rd June 2007

HI
HEY SOUNDS GREAT. I AM EXCITED TO KEEP CHECKING. OH TO BE YOUNG AND FREE LOL. KEEP THE BLOG GOING AND STAY SAFE!! LOVE YA!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb