From Bangkok to Krabi by bicycle


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
November 5th 2013
Published: November 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Good evening my dear followers, my estimated friends, my fellowship of the ring (ring) - the bell of my bike.

While some of you already know, some less than they should and others more than it would be good for them, this new trip might be totally new for most of you.

So while I am still looking for a possibilty to turn autocorrect from Deutsch to english (please excuse what it does to my english writing), let me introduce you to my journey.

It has taken me four years of hard preparation, hard thinking and hard physical Training to finally be able to dare to go on this epic journey. Not. :-) Infact I am going on it more or less utterly, totally and definitely as unprepared as you can be.

I have no visa yet, stopped sports Training in may because of my back, got no Money yet and not even my flight ticket. But I am totally willing to ignore every single naysayer, every most realistic statistic and everyone of those 100 Facts and people speaking against this journey.

However, I am not as unprepared as I pretented. For one I am hiding my real identity to the uninvited followers, my Boss, Sauron, and the other evil Folks that want to grab my identity and pull it into the light. So call me FloRider if you are not among the personally invited guests. Greetings to my big brother George at Never Say Anything (of real value).

Further more I did prepare things to take my bike with me to Thailand. This is not as easy as you might think as this is not going to Mallorca from UK or Germany. Infact when I was checking Airlines to Thailand that would take a bike at all, I found only a few reasonable offers. Turkish Airlines would have taken it for 180 EUR, Emirates wanted 1000 USD - no joke. You could buy a second return ticket for that Money (for someone taking no luggage but your bike) and still have enough money left to stay drunk for a whole month.

So in the end I decided to renew my silver Status at Air Berlin, by flying there and back (a FloRider's tale) to Ibiza twice, therefore getting my 25 flights full. Does this Sound stupid? Yes. But it is actually a saver. The flights cost me 140 EUR alltogether (being a Balearic residente) and now I got Access to all These Lounges with the unlimited Drinks and coffee supply as well. Saving me 25 flights x 6 EUR of Drinks at the airport. So actually I was paid 10 EUR for taking my bike with me. Well, now the deal is that I can take 40 kg with me. I dont know yet how much the bike will be (around 20), then i got another 20 in my backpack and 8 in my Hand luggage. Yes yes yes!

Now who is this FloRider? A mad man from the North? A deeply disturbed hispanic with anglo-arabian roots, a crossover of rat and mouse? Or why would he take a bike to Asia? Some cities in Asia have more bicycles than chopsticks. But no, I am just an overworked, overweighted, underesteemed mixture of Vampire (direct relative to Graf Dracula actually) and nerd who wants to ride from Bangkok to Krabi (and maybe further) by bicycle. Why? To get a new perspective. To let go of heavy psychological burdens (and some heavy Kilos too) and find a new way of thinking. My esoteric friend would say to "find back to myself". Äh, what? Sorry, why would I take my OWN bicycle with me at all? Well - I am tall, really tall. And have you seen some Thai tall People recently? No, Sumu Ringers come from Japan... And then how would I get a rented bicycle back to Bangkok? And how many days would I Need to spend to get started?

So this is why I am taking it with me. And I really want to get a new perspective using this means of Transport, being closer to Country, People and nature. And this journey is what I am taking you on if you are interested. I will leave in about 3-4 weeks and I will Keep you updated on preparations.

Today I brought my bike to a local bike store. The guys there will install some Little things like a carrier and pack it in some cardboard box so i just Need to pick it up when I will go on the first step of my journey, flying to Germany on friday.

Things to do (some of them):
get visa
get solar charger
unlock my Lumia 925 for Thai sim Cards
more phone stuff
book flight

Things not to do:
check waypoints or GPS or any Internet platforms like Google (Get Out Of your Generic Life forEver + loose your individuality and adventure) with tips and tricks for my journey. I want to be free from others ideas



So, this is it for today. Hopefully we can enjoy this together. Laugh, cry, shout, feel.

Advertisement



6th November 2013

Yeah - rock it and go with the flow …
… by the power of Grayskull

Tot: 0.375s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb