Muddy and Cold - Red Wine the Cure


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 6th 2010
Published: May 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pilgrims in a Winter WonderlandPilgrims in a Winter WonderlandPilgrims in a Winter Wonderland

Coldest May in 130 years
Well it´s official. The Spanish headlines declared it the coldest weather in Navarra for the last 130 years. Cold, wet and muddy. Yesterday it was a very long haul from Pamplona up to the Alto de Perdon trudging through mud. I had poorly planned and did not bring any food in my pack, expecting to hit a Bar along the way and a bocadillo of ham and cheese.

Once I was past the last town on the way up the hill I realized that there would be no place to eat until I came down the other side and after five hours of walking I was very hungry. The Camino always provides and I was fortunate to meet up'with a 71 year old New Zealander named Valerie who was very gracious in sharing her lunch with me.

After wolfing down a half sandwich, I was off again and when Valerie caught up with me near some amazing wheat fields, it soon became apparent that she was in much better shapè than I was, outpacing me in no time.

When I got to Uterga, I decided to stay the night in a nice privte albuergue called the Camino del
Alto de PerdonAlto de PerdonAlto de Perdon

Made it to the top after what seemed like hours fighting the mud.
Perdon that had excellent staff and service. The next morning I headed for a detour to the Templar Church of Eunate and then on to Puente La Reina where I am staying the night before heading out to Estella tomorrow. I prefer the smaller albuergues - the one is Puente La Reina was filled with many pilgrims and is not as personable as the one I stayed at last night.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Fellow PilgrimsFellow Pilgrims
Fellow Pilgrims

Velda, Sue and Bogdan


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb