Pretty Standard...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this was a pretty normal week, class monday-thursday with the addition of one of our Duke-in-Madrid program adventures to Segovia on Friday.

So Segovia was pretty cool, despite the fact that it was FREEZING. I looked ahead of time on weather.com and it said that it would be in the low 50's and sunny, and never before has that felt so cold. The most amazing thing we saw in Segovia was one of the coolest things I have seen so far on this trip: an aqueduct. This particular aqueduct is so amazing because after two-thousand years it is still functional and even though it is over 50 feet high at points and the rocks that comprise it are HUGE, there is absolutely nothing (no concrete, binders, whatever) holding it together besides the pressure of one rock on the other. Seriously, that is amazing, and even for me and I am not an enginerd (HI JESSICA!), just a regular nerd. Besides the amazingness of the aqueduct there was not much to report from Segovia, apparently it had a huge and important jewish presence but that was pretty much lost on me, and like everywhere else it has a royal castle and a cathedral.

I thought since I didn't have much to say this week I would take a second to talk about the weather here in Madrid. Before I left, I was told that it was pretty close to comparable with that of North Carolina. I would say that that is more or less a lie. When I leave the house in the morning (granted I leave at 8am) it is still in the upper 40's, but when I return around 2 or 3pm it is in the low 70's. Seriously, it is impossible to go through an entire day without being hot or cold at some point and in a serious kind of way. Houses in Madrid also do not have heat (although my seƱora told me "not to worry, the heat turns on November 1st"... not exactly reassuring) right now so it is UBERfreezing in my house. Our apartment does not have a window facing the rising sun so we don't really get ambient heat from that, so it is always cold. To combat the problem my family added a second comforter to my bed, the only problem is it is pink (yuck). The fortunate part about Madrid's weather is that it seriously never rains, which is really fabulous considering the cold, and rarely snows. I would like to thank the cold and polar-opposite-style-daily-temperature-change for making me sick though...

So that's pretty much it for this week. I know some of you will be BEYOND thrilled that I contained my writing today, not to name anyone specifically (kerry, brad, kristi, jessica, hallie, rachel, anyone not related to me), so just get ready for next week when I make up for it. Next up for me is PARIS (!!!) on Thursday! So 'til then...

love love love,
meredith

ps. DON'T FORGET TO SEND ME SOME UPDATES ON YOUR LIVES!

Advertisement



7th October 2008

I got it
Thanks for changing the e-mail address. Now I can still get your updates! Have a great time in Paris. I'm so jealous!!

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb