"I'm going to Disneyland!"


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 21st 2005
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CathedralCathedralCathedral

A cathedral in Segovia seen on our way to the aqueduct.
We left Salamanca a little after 8am. The bus ride was around 2 hours long to Segovia. After watching the sunrise, I fell onto a cloud of lethargy. I had stayed out late the night before playing poker at the jazz club next door. When I came to, people were standing up to exit the bus. I wished the bus ride were longer.

Segovia

I didn't know much about Segovia before we went so I had little expectations. Segovia is known for its architecture. It houses a 2000-year-old Roman aqueduct and a "fairytale" castle reminiscent of Disneyland named the Patronato Del Alcazar.

The Royal Palace was my first experience in a castle. Since the first time I saw pictures of castles in Europe, I wanted very much to visit as many of them as possible. (As I write this, I wonder if it's every girl’s fantasy to be in a castle.) As we approached it I felt like we were entering the "happiest place on Earth". We crossed a drawbridge leading us over a moat. My legs weakened when I leaned over the stone siding and I saw how far I could fall had I leaned any further.
Segovia streetsSegovia streetsSegovia streets

Aqueduct in the background.


As we entered the palace I began to feel the royalty, enchantment, and history that filled the air. I was impressed by the decor of the palace yet felt that this castle was too meager for royalty. The size of the rooms was not as grand as I had imagined but the embellishments definitely made up for it.

Avila

Avila's visit was a very short one. We quickly toured through a gothic church, the Catedral de Avila, and walked along the wall that surrounds the city. I was unable to take any pictures in the Catedral but wish I had. This was my favorite church by far. It was much darker than the other Catedrals we have visited thus far. It was a lot smaller too. I think it was the simplicity of the church that I was attracted to. It wasn't as adorned with a ton of gold and jewels or an overabundance of religious statues, murals, or paintings. It was almost cold, it was very grey, very.... gothic. But the feeling that you are protected was still there. And people still prayed and showed their appreciation for their leader. They didn't need all the extras.
AqueductAqueductAqueduct

Closer view.
The other churches were just too rich.

The wall seems to preserve and imprison a deep-rooted history from the Romanesque period while allowing modern living to thrive. The walls itself as well as other structures in the city remind the people of what was once there. And when you turn around, a franchised shoe store offers insight of what is to come. Avila is the perfect balance of yesterday and today.










Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Aqueduct 2Aqueduct 2
Aqueduct 2

Rachelle, Nick, Jenna, and Kyle taking pictures of aqueduct.. and maybe me?
Aqueduct 5Aqueduct 5
Aqueduct 5

Amanda, Jen, and Jessica.. posin' Charlie's Angels. Self-proclaimed "sexy trio".
Aqueduct 6Aqueduct 6
Aqueduct 6

Statue placed in middle.
Mujer MuertaMujer Muerta
Mujer Muerta

Mountain in background named "the dead woman". The clouds are covering the silouhette of her face in this picture.
Casa de los PicosCasa de los Picos
Casa de los Picos

House of the Points.
Casa del conde Al PuenteCasa del conde Al Puente
Casa del conde Al Puente

The last owner of this house was Count Al Puente in the 19th century. There is a sign painted on the outside wall that says you are allowed to park your carriage there for 5 cents.
Segovia A Juan BravoSegovia A Juan Bravo
Segovia A Juan Bravo

The statue is of an important military leader who led the revolt against Charles V. He lived in this square of Segovia in the 16th century.
Cute kidCute kid
Cute kid

This little lady was mopping the ground when we walked by. I asked her caretakers if I could take a picture of her. I have a few but most came out blurry because she was walking toward me quickly to grab my camera.
Gothic ChurchGothic Church
Gothic Church

This was the 2nd Cathedral to be built in Segovia. The 1st was destroyed. The spot for this church was chosen because it belonged to the Jews before they were dispelled by the Catholic Kings.
San FrutosSan Frutos
San Frutos

Lived in the 7th century. There is a book in his hand with the middle page standing. It is said that on October 25th of every year, the page turns. The end of the book signals the end of the world. I asked our tour guide how many pages were in the book, but she didn't know.
AntiquesAntiques
Antiques

I loved these little hand knockers...
Beware!Beware!
Beware!

The gypsies were everywhere selling their tablecloths and scarves. They were selling peices like the one she's holding for 30euros a peice.
Outside the PalaceOutside the Palace
Outside the Palace

This was built by the Templar Knights in the 13th century. I didn't catch what exactly it was.
AlcazarAlcazar
Alcazar

The Royal Palace. So this is "the happiest place on Earth"?


23rd October 2005

Castles
I'm showing Jeremy all your pics. You know him and castles. Maybe he'll take me sonner than later. Yeah, I saw pics of you. :P
23rd October 2005

way better than disneyland-xcept 4 mickey!
that castle looks so awesome! just from the pictures it looks better than disneyland!
24th October 2005

Cindarelli! Cindarelli!
Wow, your pictures are so beautiful!...so much history and character. Most of all, it is just nice to see you. It feels like you have been gone for so long. I miss you very much...
25th October 2005

Amazing!
Okay Corri, after all of these wonderful and beautiful places you have visited, I'm going to need you to teach me some History when you come back home. I'm starting to really realize how much I'm missing. It's nice to see you, even if it's through these pictures, you l@@k great and it must be nice to meet so many different people too! The picture of the little girl is adorable, I'm glad she didn't get a hold of your camera...ha, ha!! Anywho....thanks again for taking the time to post. I always l@@k forward to reading your journal. Until next time...take care, and stay safe in your travels. Lots of love and (((BIG HUGS)))!! ing :)
26th October 2005

Wow--AWESOME pictures! I'm learning a lot just by looking at and reading below each picture. Insert more of you so we can see you, Corri. Ciao for now. Enjoy! Helga
26th October 2005

AWESOME
Hey Corri--beautiful pictures! I'm learning more by looking at your pictures and reading up on your site than I did taking a History class. The only thing I would add are more pictures of you! I hope your enjoying every minute of this experience. Keep us posted. Love, Auntie Helga
28th October 2005

nothing great , just me
red wine, ice, coke.... trust me. anyway just ask and keep having a good time. oh and use the last of those brain cells and go to class

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb