The Journey Home


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
February 13th 2020
Published: February 14th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Day 25. 13thFeb (Thursday)

Up at 8am as planned. Cuppa tea and a bread, butter & jam sandwich (jam from Miguel’s garden I think). About 9:15 Mike drove me into Granada, to the coach station, dropped me outside and went looking for parking place. I found my bus stand and Mike met me there. I loaded my case in the hold and we said our goodbyes. Strange to be going home now, it feels like I’ve been gone for months, when it’s only day 25!

Bus set off at 10:20. Had seat on my own. Rather cloudy today and the high Sierra was shrouded in dark grey clouds. I nodded off for a while. Coach went to Malaga Coach Station (12noon) before the Airport (12:30) so most (Spanish) passengers got off and mainly Brits got on.

I checked my hold bag in and was told that my flight was delayed by 35mins. So I went to a cafe and bought a sandwich, drink and 2 small buns for €10, then sat in a corner, plugged my computer in and typed most of Day 24’s blog.

With about 45 mins to go I wandered up to the departure point to find a long queue at the desk. I went and sat with all the black guys nearby and kept an eye on the queue. I’m not sure why people wait in queues when all seats on the plane are allocated, but they do. Me and the 8 black guys seem to have it sussed. When they eventually started letting people on the plane, I joined the queue and found my seat (above the right wing).

Uneventful return flight, a lady sat beside me but moved to empty seat near front (maybe I should have showered?) The old guy at the aisle-side was deaf, so conversation was zero. I just listened to my mp3 again, looked out of my window, or dozed.

We landed at about 7:30pm (6:30 in Spain). Again, everyone stood up as soon as we landed, then remained standing for 20 mins whilst the ramps were fitted. I just sat until they moved. Then we got a bus to the terminal building, and meandered through the queues to get luggage, passport control, customs etc. I then had a 10min wait for my bus into town, went to the train station to buy milk, bread rolls and cream cakes from the M&S there. Then caught a cab home for £7 (better than £20 from airport, as did some shopping too).

Quite glad to be home although it’s now quite cold all the time (rather than just evenings). Had my fire on full blast all evening. Heard on weather forecast that a storm is due Saturday with showers later tomorrow (Friday). I should do my shopping in the morning and stay home until the weather clears? Or maybe I should head for somewhere warmer……?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



14th February 2020

Welcome Home!
Really enjoyed reading your blogs Richard. Sounds like you’ve had an interesting trip. Think of us arriving back tomorrow -Sat - to Leeds Bradford airport during Storm Denis! ( actually hoping we arrive before the worst of the strong winds...?) Just spent a month in Murcia, Spain - very lovely it was too.... sadly Blogger was playing up so did not do a blog this trip. Peace and Chips , Carol and Graham x
15th February 2020

Welcome home
Hope you managed to land at Leeds/Bradford as heard it was closed today (Saturday), but Robin Hood may be nearer home for you? Fancy us all being in Spain at the same time! It was a bit of a relief to get home, cold though it is...
15th February 2020

rrd on another jaunt
Love the blog rrd
16th February 2020

Back in England!
Sadly we had 2 rather scary attempts to land at Leeds Bradford and then diverted to Manchester - arrrived 11.45 pm but had to wait an hour on the plane for a bus to the terminal...Our friends were waiting to give us a lift home from Leeds so watched us fail - and we told them to return home as too long to wait for us. We ended up staying over at Manchester airport hotel - in bed by 1.30 am...and now going to hire a car to get us home ( couldn’t face dragging cases and golf club hold-all by train with 2 changes) Expensive diversion .... will think seriously re flying from Leeds again - our friends had the same last Sun - diverted to Liverpool and bused back to Leeds to pick up the car ! Proves the cheapest option ( Ryanair ) not always the best ? Looking forward to getting home to home comforts ... obviously including the odd glass of wine or two ...?
16th February 2020

Back in England!
Glad you got back in one piece Carol, hope Ryanair paid for your hotel! Robin Hood may go your way in future - a good modern airport (I've gone off Leeds/Brad since continuing upgrade). Welcome home anyway and take it easy on that wine.
17th February 2020

Home long before me!
Welcome home Richard! Though you’ve been home for the last few days while I’ve been following you in Maroc. I really enjoyed the blogs, despite the big gap while I was working, lots to savour. So we’ll planned, as always, and a brilliant reccy for anyone thinking of going over there too. Hopefully see you soon when you’re rested and acclimatised and the weather improves. Go well til then. Love, and thanks for the tour, A x
18th February 2020

Home!
I am glad you arrived home safely, but will miss meandering around Spain and North Africa with you. What fun we had! What a lot of omelettes we ate. Thanks for sharing all of this!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb