Sweet Valencia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
June 17th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I love this state. I have only been to the capital of Valencia, which is Valencia. It´s on the Med. The centro is so small that I found myself starting in one side and by the end of the day gone completely to the opposite side. Everyone here is really friendly. They have their own dialect, Valencian, but many people here speak Castelleano or English. It´s a old city filled with young people. I was told by a grandmother that many young families have returned and the city its going through a renaissance. The centro has kept its small town feel to it. Many of the streets are pedestrian only and there are parks everywhere for people to enjoy. What I have loved most about the city are the fountains. Every plaza has a fountain, every park, no matter how small, has a fountain.
I found a hostel in Valencia that is right in the core of the city and the view is magnificent. From down the street is the Plaza de Reina and the Cathedral. I can walk to anything in the centro and be there within a 10 minute walk. I have been out at night and have had no problems with anyone. Police are everywhere and the streets are kept up well. There has been little grafiti and what I have seen, has been more like works of art.
I went to the L´Oceanografic, the Acquarium, yesterday and it has the largest dolphin exhibit in Europe. There was a 30 minute Sea World like show along with the admission. It was impressive. I walked around the place for about 5 hours. It was a cool, overcast day. Perfect for an outside event. This acquarium rivals Monterrey, not as big, but just as diverse.
I went shopping, the first time in a month. Found a mall near the acquarium and scored. I have found that backpacks are a no-no. Even my small, brand new, Eddie Bauer and myself dressed appropriately is given glances of disapproval. Whenever I go into a store, I have to lock it up and if I do keep it with me, I have been shadowed by security. Well, after today, no longer. O.K. it´s so silly, but I want to blend...Leather shoes and leather purses here are what women wear. I´m not buying the shoes because first, their pointed and no way are my duck paddled feet going to be comfortable in them and second, yikes, the prices.
I have finally posted some pictures on the web. Tomorrow, I´m off to Barcelona. Su Amiga, Christine


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb